Hmm....

Oct. 8th, 2017 02:49 am
insaneladybug: (sailormercury)
Actually, after watching Scare in the Air, I'm back to not being so sure that my original story concept of Giovanni trying to kill James is so far-fetched. In that episode, unless the dialogue is different in Japanese, he sounds like he's deliberately sending Jessie, James, and Meowth out in a rickety blimp hoping they won't come back. Eeeek! Maybe I won't ever do anything with revising the story at all, especially if I keep flipping back and forth on that key angle. We'll see.

We had a very nice family outing. One of my nephews was getting baptized. (We believe in baptizing when the kids are old enough to decide for themselves, instead of doing it when they're babies.) He was really cute and very appreciative of the gift and card we had for him. He exclaimed "The letter is the best thing!" and was thrilled that the card's picture had a cat. They have two Russian Blue twins. I saw one of them and he said Meow when he was petted. I wanted to pet him, but by the time I finished eating, he had wandered somewhere in the yard and I couldn't find him. And my brother who owns the cats told us that they're always leaving "presents" by the door. He told a horror story of one time when one of them brought a mouse into the house that wasn't quite dead and they spent three weeks trying to find the thing and being all tense not wanting to take their shoes off with it running around. And then finally he heard the sound of it getting caught in the trap. Relief at last! I do feel sad for mice being caught in killing traps, but not so sad that I don't want to use them. It is horrible having them loose in the house!

They had these yummy big sandwiches with cheeeese, same as the last time we were out there, and I was delighted. They also had some kind of pasta salad that was great and some brownies and other desserts. And lemonade and ice water. I think it must have been powdered lemonade that's mixed up, because I like that but don't really like fresh lemonade because it's pulpy. Once everyone had their fill, I absconded with some leftovers. Good thing I did, as I got hungry before we got home and ate them all.

Another one of my brothers, the one who lives here in town, gave me $20 as a birthday present! Squeeee. That meant I could definitely get two figures! I had been waffling on whether I could, yet really wanting to because of the prices.

I got Chibi Moon, as planned, and then I saw Tuxedo Mask. He wasn't at the closer store. I hadn't planned to get him unless I already had Sailor Moon, but since he's the only male character in the line, he fascinated me. But I debated a long time between him and Pluto. I finally chose him, since I have a Pluto doll and since the Pluto figure is at the closer store. It seemed more logical to get ones I don't have closer access to. Not that I get to the local store much, but I may have another chance at it this month. Not sure, though. And my only other choices at that store we were at today would have been Mars, Super Sailor Moon, or Sailor V. Mars is my least favorite Senshi, so I'm not terribly enthusiastic about getting her ahead of other characters. I have Venus and don't feel the need for V as well, and as mentioned, I'd rather have the Sailor Moon release that comes with Luna. But I might end up getting Super Sailor Moon anyway, because of the price and because now I need to complete the Moon family!

Before we found that Barnes and Noble, there were sad times. We tried to go to a Toys R Us on the west side of the valley and couldn't find it. Finally things looked familiar to me and I saw where it had been. It's gone. The people in a local bookstore told us and then we saw the empty space. They're going to put up some stupid parking lot or something, I think they said. So that's two of my childhood Toys R Uses gone. I'd really be crushed if I still lived up there! It's sad enough just knowing they're gone. I was at that Toys R Us just last year, I think.

Then we couldn't find the Barnes and Noble because the address wasn't informative enough. We had to go ask some girls in a Metro PCS store and then backtrack, as we'd gone the wrong direction. But getting to the store was worth it, as recorded above.

And there was another reason it was worth it. There was a party store in that shopping center. Party stores always have tons of Halloween stuff, and cheaper than official Halloween stores. I went in and looked around. I found a lab coat! It was a little pricier than I wanted, but about the price I'd figured I'd have to pay for one. I couldn't find a wig, though. They were either an okay style but the wrong color or vice versa. But I was ecstatic to find the coat!

There's only one Toys R Us left in the valley now. Dad said we could go to it even though it would require a bit of backtracking. It was nice to see it, but sad too. It had a few things the closer one doesn't have, but overall, the product selection was either the same or worse than ours. And no Miraculous Ladybug dolls at all. It makes me remember my childhood and the three Toys R Uses in the valley and how nice it was to be able to have those different options to go to depending on where we were at the time. The one up East is probably the one I'm most deeply sentimental about, but I love them all. The one West is the one we went to a lot when I was watching YGO in first-run. We'd go get milk at a dairy out there every couple of weeks, drive through a local cemetery and get creeped out, and go to that Toys R Us. I think that was where I got my Team Rocket stickers (and failed to get the gift bag). The one remaining one, in the center yet farther South, is the one I probably got to visit the least, since it was the farthest away.

ShopKo is still across the street from it. So is a Halloween store. I tried the Halloween store for the wig and found the prices more frightening than anything in the store. The wigs that the party store had had too were double the cost in the Halloween store! There were also wigs unique to the Halloween store that were even more expensive. Then I tried ShopKo ... and I found something. It's blond, but it's wild, and a better option than anything else I've turned up. Best of all, they were running a weekend sale and it was 65% off! Plus I had my coupon and was allowed to take off an extra 20%! I got a $25 wig for $6.99! You can't beat that! And with the original price, one hopes it's a good wig. Most people see Baxter with blond hair anyway. It's not fluffy, unfortunately, but I'm not sure they even make fluffy wild wigs.

So now I'm all set! I can play Baxter after all! **dances.**

Then we drove mostly home, stopped to get some vegenaise (vegan mayonnaise) at a health store and picked up a free popcorn sample they have on Saturdays. Yuuum. I only got three and a half hours of sleep and thought sure I'd crash for a nap, but instead I've been wide awake. I'm wearing down now, though, I think, and I want to save the deboxing of figures until I've slept.

But yes, a great day and a great outing! I probably spent a little more than I should have, but that gift money sure helped!
insaneladybug: (z)
So, while I'm still in the process of debating whether to risk that seller's 92% positive feedback and get the Hello Kitty messenger bag, Build-a-Bear has to decide to send a good coupon at long last, only good for the weekend. I've been wanting Starlight Glimmer, but I wanted to wait for a good sale or some such so I wouldn't have to pay full price. There's a slim chance I could go out this weekend, if Dad decides to go to a picnic on Saturday (and if I'm not incapacitated over the weekend, but I'm pretty sure I will be, ugh). Also, I still kind of want a Wonder Woman doll.... And there's the problem of wanting Beauty and the Beast but not liking the current price.... And the problem of wanting to save some money for the Scottish Festival.... Heh.

We are also still without hot water. That may be rectified today, if the part finally comes as it's supposed to. Mom has been going bonkers without hot water and I didn't feel I could wash my hair satisfactorily by pouring big yogurt containers of hot water over it, so I took a cold shower instead. A very cold shower.

Adventures with the cats continue. The female cat, whom I have called Sweet Baby for years as a pet name and now can't imagine calling her anything else, still likes to rub me and sometimes to lay on my shoe so I can't leave. I haven't tried petting her anywhere except on her head, as she definitely seems to still like that. The male cat was christened Rocky Road, because he's always in my path as I walk and I've almost tripped on him repeatedly. This past night I did trip on him, gah. He got startled and yeowled and Sweet Baby didn't seem to want a pat right afterwards. I wondered if she thought I'd deliberately stepped on Rocky and thus felt leery, even though she doesn't like him. But she seemed to settle down later and wanted lots of head-pats, so hopefully she realized it was an accident, as I've also backed into her a couple of times in the past. Rocky didn't seem inclined to get in my way and it would be nice if that would continue, but at the same time I hope he doesn't think I did that on purpose. He seemed a little chilly afterwards.

I finished my fic, love it, and feel that the characters and I all need a break, so I started writing a slice-of-life fic for the next one. It will have a lot of fall-out/recovery from the previous fic, character studies, and fun times with Bebop and Rocksteady wanting a day off, LOL. It probably won't be long, but it will be a nice bridge to whatever is the next escapade.

I also wonder why everyone and their dog says the Howie Hardy songwriter character's appearance is based on Woody Allen. Okay, there are similarities, but I fail to understand basing a rock-and-roll songwriter on a movie guy. Buddy Holly seems like a much more plausible inspiration choice. Especially since I saw a picture of him and discovered that he had curly hair (whereas I previously thought he didn't). Unless there's some official word that Howie was based on Woody Allen, I will continue to feel that Buddy Holly was the real inspiration. (Or heck, maybe both were an inspiration. Maybe Howie's voice is like Woody Allen's; couldn't prove or disprove that by me.)

Also, Google Translates Sings is one of the funniest things ever. They take a song, translate it into several languages and then back to English. It's like a really hysterical game of Telephone; most of the time it comes back sounding utterly ridiculous. Crescent Blue introduced me to it and I've been laughing at their YouTube videos for the last couple of days. I'll Make a Man Out of You is still my favorite, but Be Our Guest, The Phantom of the Opera, and some nursery rhymes are up there too.

Lyric samples:

"Mysterious as the dark side of the moon" came back as "mysterious as the dark long of the shoe."

"Be Our Guest" came back as "Be Our Guestroom" (and the guy did an incredible Jerry Orbach impression!)

"The Phantom of the Opera" came back as something different each time the phrase was used. LOL. One usage was "The demon of the opera." **snerk.** It only got better from there.

"This old man goes rolling home" came back as "The old people rolled into the house."

ROTFLOL.

Also, "Hellfire," probably Disney's creepiest song, made one of the most hysterical parodies throughout. Their Lion King songs were pretty funny too. But wow, I haven't heard "Be Prepared" since I was a child and when I read the original lyrics that ran across the top of the video ... wow. Pretty unsettling song for a kids' film. Pretty much all of that song went completely over my head as a kid, even though I did get the basic gist of what it meant.
insaneladybug: (fluttershy)
So the outside cat who's been here the longest has always had a good relationship with me. She loved to hang out with me and be petted and occasionally she seemed to want to be carried. She still seems to like being with me, only twice in the last week she's ended up hissing at me during petting sessions. I worried at first maybe I touched something that hurt, but it was different spots each time, and in any case, she was never mad about it before. Also weirdly, after hissing, she settled back down like nothing had happened.

Definitely worried that she's hurt somehow, or getting old and cranky and not liking petting as much anymore, or mad about the other cat that's moved himself in. (And no, he can't get her pregnant; he was apparently fixed by whoever he lived with before.) She doesn't physically act like she's hurt, but I know sometimes cats can hide it. I don't know what to do, and I worry we probably need to have her checked out by a vet, but we have no money to pay a huge bill, and the way she's acting this week, I wonder if I could even get her to come with us to a vet. Previously, I wouldn't have been worried about that at all.

I'm upset and worried and hurt and I feel like I'm losing my friend. I don't like it. At all.

July 2025

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 07:02 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios