insaneladybug: (radley)
Christmas was basically very nice. I did manage to capture the feel of a Christmas from my childhood, which I had so desperately longed to do. It made me very happy. I also discovered cutting many dolls and figures out of their packaging can really hurt the thumb. My skin is dry and it cracked a lot there.

One of my favorite gifts is the Encanto doll set I've been wanting for a year! I was so thrilled Azalea542 got it for me! I have them set up on a metal tray right near my bed. They can stand on their own, which is so cool. I also got the Bruno and Dolores dolls so I'd have all the released dolls. I hope they will make the other characters too.

Another lovely gift was a gift card from Ladyamberjo so I could get Sylveon. I was sick of missing out on the Eevee family plushies at Build-a-Bear and I wanted to grab her since she's a favorite. That outing was a time. Almost everything that could go wrong on that outing did. Thankfully, we managed to return with Sylveon or it would have all been pointless. It started precipitating. I objected. Dad insisted we keep going, for some reason. We had to stop and get something from my sister. We had to get gas and had a hard time getting the locked gas cap off. We got stuck in a ditch for which there was no warning sign posted. People were very kind and helped us get out, but it took an hour or more. When we finally got to the mall, some mysterious thing had gone wrong and the store was temporarily closed?! I waited a bit, left in discouragement, then tried calling before leaving the parking lot. They were open again, so I went back for Sylveon. There was already a line forming, so I had to wait a bit more. Driving home was a nightmare as the precipitation continued. But at last we made it!

I got some more Eevees and watched The Rings of Power. I loved it and named Eevees Merry and Pippin. ThickerThanLove sent me the Lord of the Rings bear from Build-a-Bear, squeee! He looks like Frodo, with brown curly fur and blue eyes. I need something to name Sam next.

I am still furious at Nintendo cutting off eShop access to 3DS and 2DS tomorrow. I spent most of this past week looking for things to snap up. There was a big sale on Capcom games, for some awesome reason. I got Mega Man Legacy Collection. Mega Man games are hard. I can't jump on the bad guys and they swarm me really fast. I can't blast them all. I'm really happy to have the games, though. I'll figure it out. I was disappointed I couldn't seem to find anything else. I already got most of the awesome stuff I could afford in the months prior. Then I finally thought to look up Phoenix Wright. Those games were also on sale, for an incredible $2.99 each! Even the trilogy set! After spending much more than I really intended or wanted to (especially on DLC), I have many Phoenix games. I wasn't going to get Apollo Justice, but NinetalesUK finally convinced me I should. If I happen to take to him and the other characters from his games, I probably would be upset to not have the first game with them. I am notorious for balking at things and then loving them when I finally try them. For $2.99, I figured I'd better get it.

I got Investigations for the iPhone, since that was the only way to get it. (Yes, I have an iPhone.) But apparently I will only get the first case and have to drop a lot more to get the rest. I don't know when that will be, since I've already spent a lot. I'm enjoying the first case. Miles is still my favorite; playing as him is wonderful.

I still wish someone could use Radley's sprites from Over the Nexus to make a video game with him. I wish I could do that. I have no skills and would have to learn.

I got my dad's HP laptop working again and downloaded Steam onto it. Then I got The Disney Afternoon Collection, which was on sale for $5. I have always wanted to play those games. Darkwing is hard like Mega Man. The Chip and Dale games are the easiest. I am enjoying them all, even though I'm having trouble getting very far in them. I'll figure it out.

I had plans to get the Leafeon plush at Build-a-Bear, even though I'd have to do the online bundle with unnecessary clothes. I still want to try to make it work even after needing to snap up all that Nintendo stuff before it's gone. I have tried for days to convince my brain it is foolish. My brain will not listen. It's the only way to get him. I'm hoping I can re-sell the clothes, at least the sleeper. I might like the cape enough to keep it, but the onesie seems very silly. I don't want to cover up all that beautiful fur. If he hasn't sold out yet, I plan to order him tonight. He will make a lovely Easter gift. I'm tired of missing out on the Build-a-Bears. I wish I'd got him and Glaceon when they were briefly in physical stores last year, and Umbreon when he was online again briefly.

Some family members wanted me and Dad to get on their Verizon phone plan with them and we'd get iPhones. Mine was free! It's 13. The camera is glorious and I've taken videos of the kitty. The space is also glorious. I have 128GB! And there's not a lot of bloatware. It looks like I can delete whatever I want to, too. I like using the iPhone as a gaming device, mostly. I see both pros and cons of it. It's much harder to type on; if I need to correct a mistake, I can't even go right to the mistake. I have to erase the whole word! There's no headphone jack. Clearing caches is much harder. Apparently I'm supposed to hit offload app, but the description sounded much more complicated than a simple clearing of the cache. It sounded like I would have to redownload the app any time I clicked offload! Some of those apps are big. I don't have time to keep redownloading them! I got my dad's Motorola Android phone since he didn't need it anymore. It has 64GB, which is also good. I like to use it for most other Internet activities since Google devices are easier to manage in a lot of ways. Two of my tablets have been dying a lot, leaving me with the Amazon Fire tablet and these phones. I am happy to have them all.

I found someone called ZakuraRain who will do beautiful pictures for only $3, $6 if it's colored! They call them doodles, but they're definitely higher quality than mere doodles. I've got four pictures from them so far.

Fanfiction writing is slow at times, but still going on. I'm writing some enjoyable Kalin and Radley stories. Sometimes inspiration flows.

I also finally put the collars and lapels on the Kalin and Radley plushies' coat and jacket. I need to take pictures. I was going to get silver snaps for Radley, but I couldn't find the right kind and then I wondered if even the lightweight duster kind would weigh the light material down a lot.
insaneladybug: (nesbitt_lector)
So thankfully, we didn't really need a new modem. Something was wrong outside. A technician came out and fixed it! Things have been fine since then.

I rented Frozen 2 on Amazon, as per Crystal's suggestion, and watched it three times during the rental period. My feelings are ... mixed. I still don't like the ending. I don't think it had to be that way. But ... aside from the ending, I found it a beautiful film and I loved the songs. It was a much higher quality film than the Wreck-It Ralph sequel, as I expected and hoped.

The reasons why I have problems with the ending are as follows.

1, Elsa's powers separated her and Anna for most of their lives. They had only had three years together finally bonding again before the Frozen 2 ending separated them again. At least they're going to visit, but it's not the same.

2, It's Anna's mother and culture too, and she should also get to explore and learn about the past. Of course, somebody has to watch Arendelle, but I think it would have been much more satisfying if Elsa and Anna stayed a bit to learn about their mother and mother's family and Elsa learned more about her powers and then they both went back to Arendelle. Maybe Anna could still be queen so Elsa could be "free," but Elsa would mostly live in Arendelle and travel to the forest when she felt like it or if there was trouble. The four spirits are the guardians of the forest, so it doesn't seem like Elsa has to be there. Elsa does seem to have an adventurous side, understandable when she was cooped up so long, afraid of her powers. But that shouldn't have to equate living apart from Anna.

3, One reviewer on YouTube commented that she thought Elsa had to live in the forest so she could unleash her full powers without hurting anyone. That would just be sad if that's the reason. And it goes back to what I said about her learning to control them even better while there, but not having to stay there. Elsa does love the forest and seems more at home there than in the city, but then that's because the writers wanted it that way. Maybe some of the fans would have different images of Elsa or feel like she would be happy in the city getting to be with Anna and not be afraid of harming her. Or maybe everyone decides to move Arendelle closer to the forest so everyone can be more connected to each other. That would have been satisfying too. But basically, Elsa learning the full scope of her powers should really make her feel free, and how would it make her feel free if she has to live apart from the city for fear of harming them with said powers? That is not a happy ending. Of course, it's just that reviewer's opinion that that's why Elsa decides to live in the forest. I don't think that was what Disney intended.

Really, though, the original Frozen had the perfect ending already: Elsa learning how to start controlling her powers and the kingdom realizing she isn't a monster and them all being accepting and happy together.

All that said, the Show Yourself sequence is just incredible and my favorite part of the sequel. And I thought Olaf's sequel song was better and funnier than In Summer. I liked that they toned down Olaf falling apart. Waaay too overdone in the first film. I think I loved all the songs in Frozen 2, whereas in the original I was enthusiastic about maybe three or four. Frozen 2 was also less crude. So ... a mixed bag. But definitely worth seeing. I'll probably want to own it someday. I definitely want the soundtrack.

I've thought a lot lately about how much I can relate to Elsa on some things. I love both girls, but I definitely find Elsa the most relatable, struggling with herself and what she is and worrying about concealing her true self. (And also relating to having a bit of an adventurous side, although at the same time I wouldn't be comfortable doing anything risky, heh.) I know a lot of lesbians gravitate to her and wish that Disney would make her a lesbian, but I wish Disney would make her asexual. :) Oh, one of my favorite lines in Frozen 2 is in the childhood flashback. Anna is obsessed with romance and Elsa's reaction is, "Anna, kissing won't save the forest!" ROTFLOL. I love it. I would love to have a Show Yourself moment and finally feel free to reveal my complete self to everyone.

Gansley did indeed come on the day I was thinking he would! It's pretty awesome to have all five members of the Big 5 in G. I. Joe form now. I wish I could think of stories to act out with them, heh. Mostly I play with them by picking them up and moving them around. There are lots of cute hugs with Lector and Nesbitt.

(Also on that day, which was Dad's birthday, my brother wanted to get him a birthday dinner. He ordered KFC. Yuuum! I'm having a lot of trouble with tomato intolerance, which is really frustrating me lately. Of course, the most upsetting thing is when it affects my pizza intake. I'm considering having fried chicken for my birthday this year.)

The price of the Wreck-It Ralph Elsa and Anna dolls finally came down on Amazon, so I bought them with a gift card. They came on Monday. They're slightly disproportionate, sadly, and hollow plastic instead of solid, but they're very cute and I'm happy to get them at last. It's fun seeing them in modern clothes. LOL, Anna's shirt has a sandwich.

And my three-foot Elsa arrived on Friday! It was an amazing day and really felt like Christmas, heee. I woke up just before the delivery and was able to immediately get her inside. I needed more sleep, so I got her out of the mailing box and brought her into my room. I thought I'd be too excited to sleep, but I finally dozed off, and I had an amazing dream, one of the haunted house dreams I have such fun with. And it plunnied me for a fic at last! I hope I'll be able to develop a whole plot from it. I'm thinking that Noa buys a house because he wants a big one for him and his mother to live in. But weird things start happening and they end up calling the Big Five and Yugi and company for help. Then they have to try to solve the mystery of what happened in the house and why the ghosts are angry. I suppose that unlike Evangeline's house, which will always have some mysteries, I'll need to try to solve this one. My house dreams never do solve the mysteries, though. Lol. There's lots of wandering through all the rooms, and there's bedrooms with all of the past tenants' stuff and the feeling of ghosts lingering and being angry. In the dreams I always want to take some of the neat stuff and use it myself, but I never feel free to because of the eerie feeling. This dream had a huge bathroom with spa and a room with a stage, and rooms filled with stored furniture that felt haunted. And all of this stuff was on the basement level. Usually it's higher levels.

I probably won't try buying much of anything for a while, except a picture here and there by ElfBean. I'm pretty happy right now and want to play with all the lovely things, hee. I feel like I've been having my birthday shopping spree since April.

I finally finished my interview fic and got it all posted. I hope it looks alright. Johnson's was the hardest for me. He's my least favorite member and it's the most difficult to get into his mind.

I also kept being pestered by my original Purple Avenger plunnie, where Lector becomes a vigilante because he feels betrayed and abandoned by his friends. I finally had to pen it, and I wrote it as taking place in another verse. But it's a misunderstanding created by Dartz, who was hoping someone would give into their inner darkness. Everything gets resolved and there is squee.

Frozen 2 also provided plunnies. I love the line in Kristoff's song "You're my True North, because without you I am lost in the woods." I had to adapt the line for a squee scene with Lector and Nesbitt. It may or may not be part of my next mystery fic. It looks fine as a stand-alone, but I know I get a bigger audience for the ensemble fics. I'm not sure it fits the tone of this upcoming house fic, though. So I'm still thinking about placement for that.

Then Anna's heartbreaking song The Next Right Thing, where she thinks Elsa is dead, provided inspiration and I had to draw a heartbreaking picture: http://meromeroyui.deviantart.com I'm planning to color it, but haven't yet.

I also want to draw Lector swinging on his grappling hook as the Purple Avenger. I love that concept of Lector as a vigilante way too much.
insaneladybug: (coleyandlafe)
Crump is here, painted, and has canon-accurate pants. I also gave him socks! I was able to get what I needed for Gansley and he should be here later today, squeee. So excited to have them all together!

This past day I tried to make Johnson's shirt. I failed. The vest part fit okay, but once I put in the sleeves, it didn't fit right, aurgh. I could either take the sleeves out and put in new ones, or do the whole thing over. So far I'm having trouble removing the sleeves. I'm a little too good at sewing tight stitches! (Maybe I'd better get a stitch remover at the store....) In any case, I'd better study how the Joes' shirt sleeves are made and how wide they are at the holes. I am determined to get this right!

I ended up buying something from QVC's Christmas in July after all, but not what I'd seen and gotten interested in before. Those were mild interests that shortly faded. But on the last day, they brought out something that enchanted me so completely and continuously that I did something crazy and bought it. They showed a three-foot Elsa doll that talks and makes snowflakes. I've actually kind of wanted three-foot Frozen dolls and wondered why there weren't any when I saw the three-foot Rapunzel last Christmas. I know I shouldn't have bought the doll, and a couple of times I've thought of cancelling the order before the stock arrives. (It was kind of a pre-order and I should receive it by the end of the month. So hard to wait!) But the Easy Pay is very affordable for me, and after all the crazy spending I've been doing lately, I think I should be able to swing the payments easily while also saving some money for my birthday. I absolutely cannot seem to convince myself that I don't need or want a three-foot Elsa. Especially since I can't find anything of comparable value anywhere. This was pretty much a one-time deal too; the price went up to full after that night, so if I did end up cancelling, I couldn't get back the deal I locked in if I regretted it later.

I also for the first time am now interested in seeing Frozen 2. I may not accept it as canon because I'm still unhappy about the ending and some other things, but I want to see it. Hearing the host talk so enthusiastically about it while advertising the doll got me excited too. I think it deserves at least one watch.

I think that host, Jane, is probably my favorite QVC host. She was adorable in how she proclaimed her love of still playing with toys and she wanted my other favorite host, David, to buy her the Water Nokk horse she was also advertising for Christmas. LOL. I love it.

On the downside, the Internet has been repeatedly cutting out over the last month. After CenturyLink ran a bunch of tests virtually, it seems that the modem is dying, aurgh. We're going to need a new one soon, and apparently the CenturyLink stores are closed because of the virus, so we have to buy online. Seems to me that tech stores should be considered essential and stay open when so many people are working from home these days. It's much quicker to buy something in person or do curbside pick-up than wait for online delivery!

Ugh.

Oct. 24th, 2018 04:27 am
insaneladybug: (schrank)
So some jerk decided to make a virus to infect Fanfiction.net: https://www.reddit.com/r/FanFiction/comments/9q5gob/alert_do_not_check_any_user_profiles_on_ffn/ Be careful out there, minna-san!

I still prefer FF.net to AO3, although I use both, but ugh. FF.net admins, do something!
insaneladybug: (schrank)
So this past day was real fun. **sarcasm.** I wanted to play Duel Links so badly that I fought for hours to get Steam to work so I could play the PC version. Steam never cooperated. I don't know whether something messed up in the download or if there were just too many people signed in at once, but I had a horrible time connecting to the servers to even just sign in, and then whenever I got in, I couldn't get it to connect to the servers to start a download of Duel Links. **headdesk.** I tried switching my download region several times, I made sure Avast and Windows Firewall weren't blocking anything, I tried again after booting the computer up fresh later in the day ... all to no avail. Finally I uninstalled out of disgust. I don't know whether to bother reinstalling and seeing whether I had a faulty installation the first time. Even if I get it to work right, there's no guarantee the game will work. Technically, it says it will only run starting on the next OS up from mine. But Steam itself said it will run on my OS, so that's why I tried installing it. I thought the game would probably play through the Steam app and therefore might possibly work. But I didn't even get the chance to try and see if it would. We do have computers in the house that run on Windows 10 instead, but those are Dad's computers and I'd rather have the game on a computer that's mine. But don't think I haven't been tempted to try anyway. UGH.

(I have wondered if the thing's inability to download the game has anything to do with the fact that for some bizarre reason, the computer switched to not allowing me to download updates from inside programs several months ago. I have to remember to go to the Flash website and download the full version of the update every time there is one, instead of just being able to click the little gray box when it pops up, like I used to. I have no idea what happened. I didn't change my antivirus or firewall programs around that time. Heh, I can't even update from within my antivirus program, so it would be hilariously ironic if it's the culprit. I think I tried disabling it and the problem still happened, though. But regardless, even if that's why it couldn't connect to the servers to get the game, that wouldn't explain why it also couldn't connect to the servers to sign in in the first place!)

Then I went back to the idea of maybe getting the $30 Smartphone from Walmart that Dad has and see if I could play the game on that. I've been considering the Smartphone for a while for several reasons, but right now, wanting the game so badly is the main one. It would be like buying a portable gaming system, heh. I don't need a Smartphone, since I have a working phone and my precious tablet, but the tablet can't play the game. Anyway, so I wanted to make sure the game was compatible with that phone before buying it, so I asked Dad to let me just check something a minute. Unfortunately, he wasn't signed in on his Google account and it wouldn't let me even see something so simple in the Play Store without being signed in. He doesn't really use Google and I figured he wouldn't remember his sign-in info, and he didn't deny that when I pointed it out after he offered to sign in, so I finally gave up and signed in, figuring I could easily sign out after checking. Oh brother, was I wrong. #(&$#(&$ Google wouldn't let me out once I was signed in! There were instructions on how to sign out of the Play Store and they didn't work. It was outrageous! Finally, the only way I could sign out was to sign in on the phone's browser and delete the phone from the recent devices on my account. UGH! I hate Google. Problem is, they operate several things I really like, from YouTube to Blogger to Google Sites. And my tablet has an Android OS. I can't get away from Google. And the game is compatible with the phone, so I seriously want it now. It doesn't look like anything else will work for me to be able to play it.

Then there's my longing of merchandise.... I still can't find the Yami Bakura Hexor or get the pin the rare times I see it, but I turned up a seller on eBay who has the Seto and Yami Bakura magnets, as well as magnets of other characters. There's enough of them to make me feel like the price is worth it. There are even doubles of some of them, so I might be able to do some gifting with the extras. And the price has just lowered! I think I'm the only one interested, so even though it's been turned into an auction instead of a Buy It Now, I'm hoping I can snag it. But I really shouldn't get both it and the phone right now, so now I'm stuck in another dilemma. I don't want to miss out on the magnets. I had previously sort of decided I couldn't afford the lot, but then I got a real good look at everything in it when I looked on the laptop. The app just doesn't magnify things as nicely as the website does. Once I really saw everything I'd be getting, I felt the price was worth it.

If only the PC version of Duel Links would work, that would solve everything. I could get the magnets and not worry about the phone right now.

Oh well, I guess at least I can feel relieved that my burning desire isn't to buy that Yami Bakura figure that's over $100. Gah. Making the plushie has soothed that urge. Plushie's certainly more cuddly than the figure anyway. But I love that dynamic pose....

You know what's kind of creepy/weird about the plushie? I noticed that there's a long pinkish-red mark on the left arm, right near where the knife wound was on the show/in the manga. I have no idea how it got there. I didn't put it there. I didn't bleed on the plushie (although I got needle-stabbed several times). And I don't remember it being there when I first got the plushie home (although it must have been). I tried to take a picture of it, but it didn't show up well enough to be worth posting. Seriously, though, that is CREEPY.

Also creepy is that I watched Yami Bakura's duel against Bonz (again) and then the Arkana duel and got this really bizarre and weird plunnie of Yami Marik trapping Bakura as a Duel Monsters character in a duel (maybe other characters too) and then forcing Yami Bakura to play against him, Yami Marik. And eventually during the duel, Yami Marik gets hold of the Ectoplasmer card and wants to extract Bakura's soul and attack Yami Bakura with it. Yami Bakura is horrified and outraged. He tries to prevent that from happening, but fails. Only Bakura manages to fight back himself and instead of attacking Yami Bakura, he protects him and prevents another attack of Yami Marik's from getting through. Eventually Yami Bakura manages to win and Bakura's soul is restored, of course. They're both pretty badly shaken by the experience, although I think it affects Yami Bakura the most. I'll probably write that as a blurb. I doubt it will go into the current fic, although who knows what might happen. I'd kind of prefer it to be a oneshot unto itself, though. I really like having Yami Marik and Yami Bakura as arch-enemies. I really felt rather sad they never had another clash, especially after their intriguing parting words in the manga version of their duel.
insaneladybug: (perry_hamilton)
Or half of it, anyway. After some more story-wrestling and additions, I put up the first half of the mask fic. More or less. Even after the additions, it's still shorter than the second half, so it's not really like a half at all. Now to see how people feel. Of course, the stuff I'm really worried about isn't until the second half.

I also randomly decided to join Instagram. I hate Facebook, so maybe Instagram will get me posting on Facebook more, since I can crosspost pictures to there. And to Tumblr, but I don't think the pictures I'd put on Instagram are the kind I'd put on Tumblr.

Bleh....

Sep. 17th, 2017 05:23 am
insaneladybug: (z)
Finally got the Z icon I've been using on Dreamwidth over to LJ too. But that only worked because I removed the Mannix icon, thinking it would still be represented on my LJ header. And the header is gone. Why is it gone? I thought it was Photobucket's fault, but when I went to try to fix it under Customize Journal Style, I couldn't even see any place to input a header URL, just a background image URL. **repeated headdesk.** What's going on.... Did LJ remove my layout's ability to have a header overnight? I've looked everywhere and I don't find anything helpful or any place to input the URL.

... Oh. Nevermind, I finally fixed it. Forgot I had to use Custom CSS to have a header. It was Photobucket's fault. Once I replaced the URL in that section, it worked. Yay!

So I'm working on the current story and it's come out well, except that I think it moved faster than I intended and it has even less details than usual. The ones meant to be lighter seem to be especially lax on details. I figure I'll try sleeping on it and then see how I feel when I wake up.

It puzzles me because originally I had intended for it to be lighter/funnier and instead it ended up taking another path that made it darker/more intense, yet the mostly-dialogue way it went is more like the way it would have been as a lighter story. I feel like I need to slow it down/lengthen it somehow. If it's going to be more intense, I think it needs either more details or more meatier conversations in places. I don't know; the story decided to come out a certain way and I'm not certain I can change it, yet it's way shorter than I'd wanted and so dialogue-heavy. It's driving me nuts! And yet I like what I have. I just want more of it. I am so conflicted.

Good thing I already planned my Indigo Pokemon set would be my birthday Amazon order. That makes me a little less impatient about the fact that they still haven't shipped it. Looks like it's going to be one of those times where it takes five days or more to ship. At least when that happens, they usually rush the shipping so it comes in around three days instead of a week.

One thing I didn't mention was that at Wal-Mart this past Monday, I saw they had the Orange Islands and Johto Journeys sets. I strongly considered getting the Orange Islands one, as it was listed as only $9.97! Then I decided maybe I should come home and check Amazon's price and see an episode guide first or something, as I didn't think I'd seen many of the Orange Island episodes. When I came home and looked, I found the Indigo set and decided I wanted to use my gift card on that. With the gift card, the price I'd have to pay out of pocket would be around the same price I would have paid for Orange Islands at Wal-Mart. I also saw that Amazon is charging $19.99 for the Orange Island set. I wonder a bit if Wal-Mart's price is a typo!

I'm trying to remember when Pokemon went downhill for me. I know Advanced or thereabouts was when I called it quits because I just couldn't take the extreme dumbing down of Team Rocket, but it seems like the pattern started in Master Quest. So I believe I really only fully liked the first four seasons. Not quite sure about Master Quest, though. It was so long ago. But it does seem like that's when it started, and when Advanced started I wasn't sure whether to even try it, and then I did and soon got bent out of shape. I liked May because Misty's temper always scared me, and I did like at least one Team Rocket episode, I think, the one where they had to let their long-standing Pokemon go in order to save them (if I'm remembering right?), but aside from that, I just couldn't take their characterization that season. I have heard they get better in other seasons. I probably would have kept trying it now and then if not for the voice actor changes and the show leaving Kids WB (and my easy access).

Since I'm still unsure what to ask for for my birthday, I'm considering asking for the Orange Island set. And I'm considering buying the Johto Journeys set, probably on the birthday shopping spree, but maybe the day before, when we get groceries. I've had a long-standing debate over whether to get this set Wal-Mart has of the first four Mary Tyler Moore seasons for $19.99. Epic price for sure! I haven't seen much of the show, but I like it, and I thought it might give me some plunnies for stories about the Channel 6 crew. But if it's a debate between that or a show I already like to the point of being a fan, the show I'm a fan of will probably win.

Of course, who knows. I might get both or neither. I've also considered The Munsters set. I used to watch it when it aired on Channel 14 many years ago. I thought it was adorable and I liked it way better than The Addams Family. The Addams Family was always more popular, maybe because it originated in comic strips years before, but probably because it was much more macabre, creepy-weird, and filled with black humor. The Munsters was more like a cute domestic comedy where the family just so happened to be Halloween monsters, which suits my tastes much better.

I did ponder some time back on how it seems like the Channel 6 crew have approximate character parallels with Mary Tyler Moore characters, LOL.

April and Mary
Burne and Lou
Vernon and Ted
Irma and Rhoda

Of course, the guys' parallels seem closest. But I think all those characters would probably get along very well with each other, for the most part. (Either that or some might repel each other; I could see Vernon and Ted either being friends or repelling each other because they're too much alike, LOL. Although I think Vernon doesn't seem as clueless as Ted. And Ted seems like a nicer guy.) Mary and Rhoda are more mature than April and Irma, I think, but they could potentially still get along. If I do get the set and see a lot of the show, a crossover probably isn't out of the question. Or at least some extended cameos.
insaneladybug: (hamilton)
So now LJ is apparently making up tags for me? It stuck the number fifty in as a tag and claims there's one usage of it. Naturally, when I click, it goes nowhere since there is no such tag. I deleted it from the list. It had better not come back. Or be replaced by another. I really do not appreciate my journal being tinkered with in any way. I also hate how if you write a number in an entry, it will automatically get linked to a search for it. Maybe that's only if there's a hashtag with it, but ugh, this isn't Twitter! People I know use LJ because it isn't Twitter. Or Facebook, etc. And we liked it better before the changes that started to make it more like them.

But seriously, making up tags? That is inexcusable. Unless it's some kind of a glitch. And if it is, it had better be fixed quickly, unlike how they claimed the extra ads were a glitch yet they did nothing about them until apparently the last mass migration from the site in April.
insaneladybug: (schrank)
So I have abhorred Photobucket for years. It hogs memory and the amount of ads are outrageous. For once, I'm not the only one having a problem with a site. Lots of others dislike it for the same reason, especially of late.

A couple of weeks ago, Photobucket pulled a really crummy move on the free users. I only learned of it tonight. I barely use the thing, but I know lots of others use it a lot, and I felt I owed it to them to let them know of Photobucket's idiocy if they don't already. I don't feel like trying to type it all up myself, but this blog post sums it up very nicely: http://www.laurenwayne.com/2017/06/photobucket-phail-how-to-ruin-host-site.html

In other news, when the area hits a record high of 103, the Scottish Festival automatically becomes a lot less fun, even after the sun goes down. Uggggh. I hate summer heat. It was so stifling. And Mom got lost for a while. And I fell in love with a couple of beautiful handmade jewelry pieces, but of course, they were more than I felt like I could afford right then. I love how much fun it was last year at the Festival. It was so much fun that year, it reminded me of some of the earlier trips. This year was ... pretty mediocre. And yet I would have been sad if we hadn't gone. Part of me is still contemplating going back later today for the necklace that was the cheaper of the two, but I know I really don't want to spend even that much for it when money is so extremely tight. So beautiful, though.... A big deep blue flower in the sapphire shade, what we call "wing-color blue" referring to Kingdom Hearts Sephiroth's wings.
insaneladybug: (hamilton_tragg)
So Facebook sent me one of its erratic notifications saying that someone posted a new picture. It was actually an album's worth of pictures, from a visit she made here a couple weeks ago for what looks like her sister's high school graduation. I looked through them all and ended up feeling pretty sad. So I guess that answers the question. I wasn't upset before just because of teetering emotions, even if that was part of it. Looks like I'm just going to continue being emotional for who knows why. Maybe the dam finally broke and stuff I bottled up for ages is just going to keep coming out.

I worked with this lady for a long time doing the church activities I still do for the 8-11 girls age group. She was probably the one I worked with the longest (three-ish years or more, I believe). I was so upset when I knew she was going to move, but eh, everyone I like always seems to do that sooner or later, so I think I tried to push back how much it hurt because I didn't know what to do and I didn't want to deal with it.

I don't know that we were really even that close. At least, it certainly wasn't like it ended up with the first girl I worked with, whom I still hang out with and will hopefully be seeing this week. This lady and I didn't really associate outside of working together. But there were friendly gestures, like she loaned me her brown permanent marker when I was making the Lou plushie and needed the brown for his eyes, and she took pictures of me holding the Ginger and Lou plushies when I had them to a point that I was ready to show them off.

There were planning meetings with just the two of us; for a while it was just us, and we'd have the activities at her house. (Funny story: the layout of her house is nearly identical to the current house of the girl I worked with first, the one I called my movie-going friend, so there's always that reminder of her when I'm over there.) And while I've had happy times all along and enjoy the company of every lady I've worked with, I think I was the happiest when it was just the two of us having cozy activities for the girls at her house. Another of my happiest activity memories is when the two of us and the only four girls who showed up to that particular activity played Capture the Flag in the church gym. There have been two other Capture the Flag activities since then, with a larger group, and honestly, they just don't come close to the happiness and fun of the time with the small group. Go figure.

Then there were a couple of misunderstandings that I feel terrible about. There was one time when we had activities planned for several months, and then she had to pull one of hers out, and naturally that moved the other activities up on the schedule. I was worried wondering how to work it because then ones that wouldn't have happened yet were coming up sooner and I needed to coordinate at least one of them and I wasn't prepared. I needed her help about something to do with it and somehow something I said gave her the impression that I was telling her that things were her fault. I felt awful. I was just trying to explain that since she'd had to pull the one activity, it moved the others up on the schedule and we needed to get going with planning those sooner than originally thought.

Then a mortifying incident when she was moving. I wanted to give her a card, but they'd already left the old house and I wasn't sure how to get it to her. She didn't offer an address to mail it to, but said they'd be checking the old house's mail a couple more times. And ugh, Facebook was being such a memory-hogging pain and wrecking the browser's performance, so I couldn't stand to be on it and I immediately closed it after asking the question of when to leave the card, and it didn't notify me of her reply, and I was mortified since it only came in a minute or two after I'd posted. I didn't think it would be easily understood how awful Facebook tends to act for me, and I was frustrated that I'd missed the chance to get the card to her. I asked if there would be any other chances and I also managed to miss that reply. Ugh, I hate Facebook so much. I felt like sinking through the floor that I'd missed that one too. And I also felt bad not to be able to get the card to her, but I wondered if I was just being a bother and she didn't even really want it since she didn't give me an address. I think she was staying with her parents at the time. She probably didn't feel she should give out their address, but eh, I felt awkward and didn't know what to do and I still have the card in my bag.

We haven't really interacted since then. We're both quiet, reserved people, which I suppose accounts for the misunderstandings and such. Probably neither of us wants to do anything to impose. Maybe she thought I was trying to give the card as a dutiful gesture or something and she didn't want to put me to any trouble if that was the reason I wrote it. I don't know.

There have been some slight interactions in the way of Liking posts and comments on Facebook. Maybe I should try seeing if her email still works and ask how things are going. Since there was some post Liking, maybe she's not still upset with me (if she ever was to begin with). If I remember right, I stopped using the email because she had to pay more for using email. But maybe she has a better set-up at the new home.

Bleh, I don't know what to do with myself. This is just stupid. Ever since I saw the picture post, I've been crying off and on missing her so flippin' much. I love the ladies I work with now, but I wish she was still here. I wasn't ready to let her go.

Yay.

May. 17th, 2017 04:35 am
insaneladybug: (z)
Feeling much better now; hope it lasts. Feeling happier about the fic again too.

I wanted an icon of the alien computer Z, or Vincent, as he's called in my stories. (LJ users will have to come to DW to see it, I think....) Z is a behind-the-scenes name, never spoken in the episodes. And I didn't learn of it until long after I was calling him Vincent. Ooops. This is probably the cutest expression he made, when he was praising Baxter for something. He was always praising Baxter's genius, even though he could clearly see Baxter had very little of it left as the fly took over. Opinion is torn as to why. Some think he's just manipulative. Others, like me, think he's trying to ground Baxter in reality as much as possible and keep encouraging him. Heaven knows Baxter needed that. It's just too bad that Z also encouraged him to take revenge, but that could easily enough be because his culture didn't frown on it. Or because even though he can clearly think for himself, he was naive enough to figure that taking revenge would make Baxter happy, and he seems to dote on Baxter's happiness.

This episode has him making himself a body out of solid energy. That is both freakin' weird and awesome, and I never would have thought of such a thing. Props to David Wise! Vincent uses such a device in my stories too. But he also decides to wear clothes there. Hee. Even though he didn't make his body with anything that needed covering up....

The animators drew him with thick, pointed fingers, and only three of them plus a thumb. I imagine that was to make him look more mutant-like. I always draw him with normal fingers, though. I just figure he decided to try something different when he had a second chance at a body.

My Turtles site is at https://sites.google.com/site/exittheflytmnt1987/ I have a lot of fanart, links to the fanfics, musings, an interview with Baxter and Barney's voice actor (squeee!), etc. Wish I knew who voiced Z, so I could talk to him too. I've heard three different possibilities and no one seems to know for sure.

July 2025

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 01:47 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios