WTH, G5?

Jul. 28th, 2021 05:36 pm
insaneladybug: (Default)
So I haven't been happy with G5 of My Little Pony ever since the info came out about all the Pony races being separate. Totally depressing enough, but at least it was supposed to be a new verse. Now more info shows that it's the G4 verse way in the future. Twilight and company are still alive, apparently, as they're going to be in it in supporting roles or something, last I heard, and come on, you know they'd never stand for something like that happening. They must be missing or trapped or something and the new main characters will have to find them. Ugh. I most likely will refuse to accept G5 as canon unless I can think of it as AU. I already don't accept season nine of G4 as canon. The quality was really low, as seen especially in episodes like Cheese Sandwich's second one. I watched it back to back with his first episode and the quality difference was absolutely glaring. The first episode was him and Pinkie wanting to make people happy with special parties tailored to each Pony's interests. The second was just stupid, about him running a prank factory and mentioning very little about the special parties.

Thinking about anything Pony-related of course makes me think of JP and how I can't share these things with him anymore. I'm so upset about his death that I can't even deal with it; my mind has literally subconsciously locked the memories and the pain away. If I think about him too long, it breaks the seal and I usually end up crying again. I just can't comprehend that he's no longer here, that all the late-night conversations and him wanting to share his latest interests is all a thing of the past.

This year is horrible and the summer especially has been nightmare after nightmare. Mom and I came down sick for a month. I don't think it was Covid because we didn't seem to have the symptoms. I really think it was a normal flu. (Of course, I realize sometimes that cursed virus manifests itself as a flu-like thing. If we did have it, our experience must have been middle of the road. It wasn't mild like some lucky people had it, but it wasn't the most severe either.) I definitely remember feeling horrible like that sometimes as a kid. Then Dad falls right in the driveway and breaks his hip so badly he has to have a hip replacement. He's recovering amazingly well and is able to be home, but now our home has become a hospital ward and people think they can troup in day and night to visit, even when he's trying to sleep. Sometimes they want to rearrange things the way they want them, whether we want it done or not. I hope Dad was firm enough now that it won't happen anymore. Yesterday was a chaotic nightmare and I was so exhausted. It's hard to get things done that actually need doing when there's so many people in and out all the time.

A family tragedy happened where a cousin suddenly had a heart attack and died, leaving his wife and many kids, some of whom are still young. His mother was having so many health problems that she couldn't even be told for a while because her condition was too delicate and they thought she might have a heart attack too. They were finally able to tell her and the funeral was this past Sunday and Monday. No one was told until the last minute and of course we weren't in any position to go, even if someone invited us. I was so upset about the death that I couldn't even process it at first. It just seemed too unreal, too unfair and horrible. He always struggled so hard to provide for his family, sometimes working multiple jobs.

There are other things happening too that I don't want to talk about.

I would much rather deal with Covid lockdown stress than any of what's happened this year. And fandom hasn't always been the escape for me that it usually is because I've been having some problems there too.

Screw you, 2021.

EEEEEEEEEE!

Dec. 7th, 2020 08:36 pm
insaneladybug: (snakes)
On Saturday I was over the moon!

Cut for Mandalorian spoilers )

I had to watch that episode as soon as I learned about it, of course. I've been waiting to see if anything would be worth starting up the Disney+ subscription again, at least for a month or so, and this most certainly qualified. I pounced on it, then starting watching The Clone Wars. I missed out on that when Netflix had it, so I'd better get my fill this month. I can probably only keep Disney+ for this month. I should also try to see some DuckTales episodes. I don't have the elusive volume 4 DVD set, and it went out of print shortly after it was released, aurgh. Disney probably won't release it again because they'll figure people should just stream it on Disney+. Some people prefer physical discs!

I was not in a good mood when I started this entry, but I hoped writing about the squee would make me happy again. So far it's worked. It's hard to stay upset when writing about something that kept me on cloud 9 all that day. I was squeeing so much, I couldn't settle down to work on my fic for hours.

It's so disappointing this year that Dollar Tree doesn't have much in the way of decent DVDs. Usually they have great stuff at Christmastime, if only then. I've found anime, Scooby-Doo, and neat DC movies and TV episodes in the past. Almost everything they've had this year is lame. There was one nice Christmas movie, just a couple of DC things that didn't interest me, maybe a couple of interesting nature documentaries, and maybe a few nice things for the little kiddies, and otherwise it's second-rate trash that nobody much wants to buy. (Seriously, there are DVDs that kick around for years at Dollar Tree.)

I saw a Looney Tunes Christmas shirt last week that was kind of cute and appealed to me, with Bugs, Daffy, Wile E., and Taz in Christmas clothes. I considered getting it, but didn't, and I've had one or two dreams with the characters since then. I don't really want it that much, though, even though I like Wile E. Give me Disney any day over Looney Tunes (although some of the old Disney shorts are rather mean-spirited too).

I really kind of want those re-issues of The Real Ghostbusters figures for Christmas, but they're almost $15 for one, so I know Dad wouldn't want to get them. Plus, figures from the movie are out right now too, and ten to one he'd get confused and might get the wrong thing. The cartoon figures were almost all gone again tonight too. I considered getting one with some cash of Mom's and then having her keep it until Christmas, but I don't really want to do that. It seems ridiculous to have to buy my own presents, even if I'd be using her money instead of mine. The only Egon left had a grease mark too. Looking on eBay, he seems to be the hardest to get too. That figures.

At least someone was finally at the fabric counter while there was black cotton to be cut. I'll make Kalin's clothes this week, probably.

5Ds

Dec. 5th, 2020 03:18 am
insaneladybug: (kaibabrothers)
Someone on YouTube is apparently familiar with me from years before and told me I'm a legend. They also used the goat emoticon, which I learned can be an acronym for "Greatest of All Time." That absolutely bowled me over. It's still so surreal and hard to believe that anyone could feel like that about me. It certainly gave me a much-needed emotional boost. I've been struggling a lot again lately with emotional stress and some bouts of self-hatred.

I finally got approved for Medicaid, thank God! I've been calling places to direct them to Medicaid for billing. I still have another I'll need to call on Monday. This is certainly an immense burden eased. It also looks like the hospital bill I racked up wasn't anywhere near $8,000 like we were told? But we still couldn't have afforded it.

I finished watching the first 64 episodes of YGO 5Ds, on YouTube. I don't normally tear through a show's episodes that quickly, but I was hooked and could hardly put it down. I decided I should watch the episodes before buying them, and they are officially available online. I probably will buy the DVD set, though, because Earthbound Immortals is so good and very rewatchable! I already want to see some of them again!

Most of it is good and rewatchable, anyway. For the life of me I don't understand why a wonderfully dark and serious arc was interrupted by Luna's extended trip to the Duel Monsters world. They could have done those episodes to better fit in with the tone of the arc, but instead it had to be ridiculous with stupid monkey lackeys of the villain, and the villain himself wasn't what I expected. Neither was the human villain in the real world, Devack. With all the other Dark Signers, we know who they are and what they're upset about. Then Devack comes along and we're never told anything about him and it's like "... Why do we care what happens to him?" It seems like a serious oversight when every other Dark Signer has a masterfully thought-out backstory. I do love the sibling squee in those episodes, but otherwise I feel like I went to kiddie land for four episodes. It's so out of place with the intensity of the arc. I was rather bored by that part in the Duel Links event version I encountered first, too. In the original YGO, weirdness like that would have only happened in virtual reality.

On the upside, I really love how this show handles emotions and emotional trauma. At first I did not like Akiza, but then they slowly developed her and brought out her horrible past in a way that finally by episode 40, everything made sense and she was one of the most realistic and complex characters! She also had a setback then when her beloved mentor seemed to have been killed. (And ugggh, her mentor is a real piece of work. Horrible guy. He ranks among the few characters in anything I absolutely detest.) I wonder a bit if the writers took inspiration from Mai in season 4 of classic YGO. Some things seemed a little similar, like how Akiza lashed out at Yusei when he was not to blame for anything that happened to her. They also do this emotional exploration with Yusei, having him shaken for a long time about Kalin turning against him, and with Kalin himself when he comes back to himself and realizes all the horrible things he did unjustly. They even do some pretty great development with Officer Trudge when he finally starts to see the good things about Satellite and then gets thrown into a position where he has to protect kids. He starts out just being a creep who uses his badge to bully people, but then he somehow ends up lovable. I love it, I love these characters, I just still hate what happens to Domino City!

I don't like that Yusei's Satellite friends disappear from the show for the most part now, until they appear again at the ending. It's like Yusei doesn't be with them anymore now that he's part of team 5Ds.

Crow is awesome. Something about him reminds me of Zack Fair from FF7, and that really comes out even more during the Earthbound Immortals finale.

It's really a shame the dub didn't do all the episodes. I haven't decided yet what I'll do with the next arc, which is, I think, mostly filler. I probably will watch Kalin's redemption arc again. It has some kind of silly things in it too, like the guns that unfold into Duel Disks. LOL. It's obvious Crash Town is a Western parody from start to finish. But whatever's silly in it still isn't anywhere as bad as those Duel Monster world episodes.

Crash Town must be pretty close to Domino City, since Sector Security apparently has law enforcement jurisdiction. They seem to be exclusively a Domino police force. It's probably like with the LAPD, where their jurisdiction extends to some of the nearby rural and mountain areas. It's nice to think Kalin must still be close by. Also, I think the dub improved on not having people die in the mines, because if they died, that prompts the disturbing question as to whether Kalin caused anyone to get sent there who ended up dying from the horrible conditions. I think Kalin has enough to feel horrible about without adding something like that! I also prefer the dub having the idolizing kids' dad live. I really hate having him die in the original, when the kids were trying so hard to save him. I think I'm going to headcanon that he lived in the original too. He fell, but I don't think we saw him hit bottom. Maybe he landed on an outcropping and was later rescued, injured but alive, as in the dub. Maybe after I finish the fic I'm doing, I'll write one where he's talking to Kalin while he recovers.

EDIT: Another thing I meant to add was that Crash Town has nothing supernatural in it. Hence, the deaths (in the Japanese) are real. I prefer not having that kind of reality in an anime that usually has supernatural problems. I really loved in Earthbound Immortals that even Greiger's village was able to be restored because it was destroyed by supernatural means and the people taken to power up the Earthbound Immortals. Anyone taken for that can be restored when the things are defeated. That's so much nicer than reality. I'm sick of reality, I'm sick of real deaths ... bring on the supernatural anime problems, please!

I did finally get the YGO fic rolling where Lector encounters Kalin. Eventually it decided to become my original cross idea of seeing whether a dimensional rift could have opened during Zero Reverse and swallowed the YGO classic characters I figured disappeared. I also decided that if Mokuba was lost, Seto closed himself off and didn't care anymore about anything, and he wasn't responsible for the totalitarian mess Domino became. The fic has been catching some attention, even a reviewer on AO3 (a rare thing for me), so that's certainly been nice. I hope any 5Ds fans reading won't be disappointed. I want to highlight what I like about both series, but I have to point out the strange things about 5Ds that don't make sense and try to make sense of them.

I also started making the Kalin plushie. I probably got his hair too long, but it's a lot longer in his redemption arc. I haven't been able to get black cloth to make his clothes yet. No one's ever at the fabric counter and when I ring for them they don't come. And of course, the one time someone was around, there was no black cloth left for them to cut for me! Aurgh!

I wrote prompts for every day for Whumptober and Comfortember, making a huge, connected fic about the Big Five being tortured by Yami Marik and trying to recover from it. I'm really pleased with it. I'm especially pleased I actually wrote for each day in Comfortember, as some of those prompts weren't plunnying me so much. But somehow it all came together.

I got another tablet since the Amazon one has been bothering my eyes so much and the DigiLand has been acting weird and also couldn't update Duel Links anymore. Walmart had an amazing deal on their Onn tablet for $28, so I snapped that up. It's been great.

...

Nov. 10th, 2020 04:37 pm
insaneladybug: (schrank)
Last night I wanted to watch something new and ended up watching the live-action Dora movie. I thought it looked exciting and might give me plunnies. I didn't get any plunnies, and I have mixed feelings on the film. It was a basically great adventure, but I have to wonder who the target audience was. Was it kids who watched the cartoon and are adults now? There were jokes that were not appropriate for kids, like scorpions deciding to mate on a guy's head. And I'm not sure I've ever seen a movie so crude. (I know there's worse ones, but I haven't seen them.) There was a whole sequence about a girl needing to go to the bathroom in the jungle and Dora making up a song about it to try to comfort her. Okay, so that's a realistic problem that would definitely happen in such circumstances, but seriously?! Do we really need that kind of realism, especially in a kids' movie? Does any parent really want their kid walking around singing a song about digging a hole to go to the bathroom?

My other main problem is that it left things confusing as to what was real and what wasn't. It supposedly continues from the cartoon, but it acts like everything from it was in Dora's imagination. I hate that approach. It's like a slap in the face to all the kids who loved the cartoon, basically telling them that even within the verse of the show, it's not really real. It would be like Gabriella or some other human character on Sesame Street saying none of that's real and they were just daydreaming every episode. Okay, granted, if there were really talking maps and backpacks, the movie would have been extremely cheesy, but still. They also address Dora talking to the audience and have everyone confused about who she's talking to. That and some other things, like the bathroom song and Dora talking about a poisonous frog, make it seem like a parody of itself.

But then here's the confusing part: the fox character is suddenly revealed as real and is working for the villains. So if the fox is real, are the other things real or not? The movie acts like they're not, and yet the ambiguity is baffling. I know, it's not the kind of movie you can really take too seriously, and yet I can't not think about it.

And honestly, I've never even seen the cartoon, lol. But it sounds like from what I read about it that it doesn't take the approach that everything is only in Dora's imagination. I don't think I accept the movie as a continuation. They're separate verses to me.

Meanwhile, I cannot make myself start writing the scene I wanted to where Lector encounters Kalin Kessler having time and dimension traveled. I think it's because even though I've come to love the 5Ds characters, I just cannot reconcile what happened to their Domino City with the classic series. MoonlightTyger voiced one of my big problems: that there's no way many or any of the original cast are still around and alright. They wouldn't have just done nothing during the 5Ds era disasters. Seto must have lost his mind to create Turbo Duels and allow the totalitarian separation of New Domino City and Satellite. Seriously, you can't even face your opponents when Turbo Dueling. It just doesn't sound like something Seto would create at all. Why on Earth did they decide to set that series in Domino? If it was just somewhere else, there'd be no problem. I find myself repeatedly frustrated that I like the characters so much when there's this issue, because as a devoted classic YGO fan who doesn't want to see Domino City wasted, it is very difficult to deal with liking 5Ds!

Ugh.

Oct. 18th, 2020 05:27 pm
insaneladybug: (lector)
It has been extremely stressful almost from the time I last wrote anything here. I discovered the worst pain I have ever had in my life, which seems to have been caused by rupturing ovarian cysts, and I'm still trying to get my body back to normal. There's other cysts that may or may not be cancerous, although the doctor doesn't really think they are. He didn't even see the ultrasound pictures, though! He just read the hospital's report! We're waiting to see if the blasted things shrink on their own while I try some natural remedies and foods that are supposed to help. The doctor doesn't think food has anything to do with it, but I've found that my problems and the pain seem to pivot around foods. I've mostly felt a lot better and I discovered standing and walking are very helpful. I racked up a horrific bill just from the tests they did and I'm trying to qualify for Medicaid. I just thought everything was okay and now they seem to be demanding I redo all the information again?! WTH?! Aurgh! I tried to call them on Friday but couldn't get anyone and I'll have to try again tomorrow.

My birthday was peaceful, at least, but low-key. I still haven't had my outing. We were hoping to try for this coming week, but now we have a new house problem to deal with, as our bathroom light fixture decided to bork and now we have to light it with nightlights. We've been having so many house problems the last few months, mostly plumbing but also some electric issues. Our water pressure is horrendous. It's been wrecked ever since the city forced new pipes on everyone last year, and it's gotten worse for us in the last several months.

To compensate for no outing, I bought a lot of things online to have for my birthday. It was fun, but it doesn't take the place of physically visiting a store. It's the whole experience that's so fun, not just buying things. Although the irony is that I likely wouldn't be able to find much of anything I want in a physical store. It seems like what I want is either cheaper online or only available online.

Some other, more minor stressful things happened the past week, but because of my emotional state dealing with my health problems they tipped me over the edge. It's ironic and frustrating that I really try so hard to control myself online, but the few times I just can't take it anymore I get branded as some kind of horrible thing. Also ironic is that while they're thinking how awful I am, I'm emotionally tearing myself to pieces for weeks afterward because I said or did something that hurt someone. I have a lot of problems with anxiety and have for years. I've never been officially diagnosed, but reading up on the symptoms certainly matches my states of mind when I go into those ways and I fully believe I have an anxiety disorder. I would love to talk to a therapist, but we can't afford that either. And I certainly can't think about that when we're not sure the Medicaid went through. If I can really qualify for ongoing Medicaid and not just temporary, maybe then I can consider a therapist. I only really realized how badly I needed one two and a half years ago when I sank into a really bad depression and self-loathing state. A friend who is a therapist in another state really helped me a lot to be able to pull out of it. If only she lived here. I had a small-scale setback into such a state this past week because of those stressful things and what happened because of them. That friend plus other friends have been helping me pull out of it again and helping me see that I'm not the scum of the earth, which is how I was feeling.

I also lapsed into another frantic "Buy, buy, buy!" mode this past week, like I did in April when the lockdown started. Apparently that's going to be a thing with me now and I've developed full-blown retail therapy problems when under extreme stress. Although at least I'm not buying up everything under the sun; I still study things out for days to get what I really want. This round I wanted YGO things and I bought an official YGO coloring book and one of the Scholastic character guides, this one focusing on the villains. I wish I'd known about all these wonderful YGO things Scholastic put out at the time. I was looking and looking for things like that and could never find them. Apparently they did a whole line of character guides in 2006. I wonder why they waited until then. That was when the show ended!

I wrote all of the Whumptober prompts into a connected storyline and am posting them. I was delayed for several days when the worst of my physical pains were happening, but I've got back on track and am posting on the correct days again. I'm trying to do the Comfortember ones too, but they aren't plunnying me as much, so I'm not sure I'll do all of them. But I don't have any other story ideas other than expanding one of Nesbitt's hallucinations into a full fic really happening and taking place in another verse, so I want to keep trying. I love to write and feel like to not be able to is to lock part of my soul away.

The hallucination I want to expand is for Dartz to trick Nesbitt into using the Orichalcos. For some reason I've been wanting to write a storyline similar to Mai's season 4 arc. I don't know why, really, because that was gut-wrenching. But I finally figured out how to work it in a way I like. Nesbitt is feeling horrible because of his weakness in almost abandoning the others in Noa's world, so Dartz preys on that and tells him the Orichalcos will make him strong. In Nesbitt's state of mind, he believes that and thinks it will help him be a better friend, so he accepts it and then it corrupts him. He has no idea about soul-stealing or swallowing the world with a giant sea snake until after it corrupts him, which seemed to be the same with Mai in canon. In the dub, at least, Dartz most certainly doesn't tell her any of those things until she agrees to accept it. You can see in her face that the corruption is instantaneous. Very chilling.

As much as I love and adore Lector and have given him some of my personality traits in how I write for him, I really went to town with Nesbitt and base him on me even more. His insecurities, his struggles with his weaknesses, blurting things out he shouldn't and beating himself up over it, his asexuality, is all based on me. In the Japanese he doesn't seem to have some of his issues, like wanting to pretend he's a machine, so I deliberately write him based on the dub version because I find his manias so interesting and a writing goldmine. I do, however, use his Japanese backstory in how Seto treats him, which was even more appalling than in the dub. He tells Nesbitt not to get underfoot when the new engineer arrives, aurgh. So cruel when Nesbitt was the top engineer! (And semi-related, I read a short fic on Crump based on the Japanese version where Seto said something horrible to him when he brought the idea of a penguin sanctuary and theme park, something about crushing Crump like a soda can if he didn't drop the idea?! If that was really what he said in the Japanese, horrible! And of course, Seto learned all that kind of behavior from Gozaburo. So sickening how Gozaburo poisoned that once-innocent mind.) Honestly, aside from them letting Pegasus take Mokuba, I'm more on the Big Five's side than Seto's, up to the point where they first start messing with virtual reality. As horrible as Seto treated them, that wasn't justified. I wish the dub hadn't inserted a murder plot in season 1 that didn't exist. I can't even watch that episode in the original dub anymore because that sickens me so. I always watch it in the uncut dub instead. I'm glad that was one of the few episodes that made it into the uncut dub.

I'm still getting pictures from ElfBean. Her latest is from my fic where Lector is a vigilante and I just adore it so much!

I feel like drawing a picture of Lector laying on his bed in his dress shirt and pants and tie, looking up at the ceiling. Usually it's Nesbitt I depict without his suitcoat, but after an RP scene I feel like I really want to show Lector like that too, squeee. He would look amazing! (Of course, he always looks amazing, heh.)

I had a really awesome and fun dream the other day about playing a video game where the player is interacting with the Big Five. Their memories have been mysteriously wiped and the goal is to help them find something they're looking for and restore their memories. It would work great as a visual novel type game, and apparently there are sites where people can make games like that without years of programming lessons! I definitely want to try it out! I have the sprites from the Nightmare Troubadour game that would be perfect to use in it! They looked so amazing in that game!

This is the checklist of everything I've bought for my birthday and a bit afterwards:

- Set of the first four Anna & Elsa chapter books set after the first Frozen
- The most recent Frozen 5 Minute Stories collection, the red cover one
- Frozen Blu-Ray and DVD combo (if we ever get a Blu-Ray, I can see all the cool bonus content!)
- Star Wars Qui-Gon Jinn 12 inch figure
- Star Wars Obi-Wan Kenobi from episode 1 12 inch figure
- Yu-Gi-Oh! Twisted Nightmares double deck set of Yami Bakura and Yami Marik (sooo awesome and perfect for my Yami Bakura memorabilia collection! There's a game mat with characters on it, and Skill cards with them on them, and cards at the beginning of the decks with them on them.)
- Halloween face mask that says Trick or Treat in an eerie font, perfect to use with my recycled Yami Bakura costume this year
- Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Chaos coloring book
- Yu-Gi-Oh! uncut dub volume 2, The Insector Combo (the only volume of uncut I don't have, and I finally decided I wanted it)
- Yu-Gi-Oh! character guide to villains
- Autumn socks
insaneladybug: (lector)
A couple of weeks ago or so I found the Kingdom Hearts 3 cutscenes of Sora's adventures in the first Frozen film. I had wondered if revisiting the first film in any form would make me decide I liked the sequel better after all. Instead, it had just the opposite effect, lol. I reaffirmed that the first one was perfect as is and didn't need a sequel, and that I really don't like the path the creators chose for Elsa in the sequel. Most unnecessary. I think the shorts and books have much better follow-up stories. I ordered a set of some of the Anna & Elsa books for my birthday and got another Prime trial for the next four weeks. They also offered me a $5 credit just for downloading a book to read free on my Amazon tablet! I chose another Frozen book, one about a ghost supposedly haunting the castle. It's fun and cute so far.

Build-a-Bear sent me an email the other day with Disney products in it. They have some cute Mickey and Minnie plushies, but most were too expensive in general and all were too expensive to buy online and have to pay shipping to get. Looking at the email made me decide something, though. I've wanted a Mickey plushie for years. This is the year I'm going to actually get one! I have my brother's little Mickey, but he's not very furry anymore and the stuffing was coming out. I can't remember if I was able to patch him up. I always felt like I couldn't get another Mickey because it would be "betraying" that one, lol. But I really want one and am determined to get one. Disney isn't having any sales right now, so I considered Walmart's offering. Theirs is really nice, but doesn't have a tail. I see a lot online with tails. I am most tempted to buy a 25 inch one that's $20, and then I'd get $5 off with my credit. I have a weakness for supersize things!

I also have a $5 coupon from eBay that I can use for once. Usually they send things I can't use, like coupons only good for fashion categories or whatnot. I'm still debating what to buy with that too. Part of me thinks I should get the Yami Yugi pin I need to complete my set of them (the set with the Yami Bakura pin). Another part thinks I should buy the other uncut dub DVD. I have 1 and 3, but not 2. I hadn't been interested before because it's just the Weevil duel and Joey's first duel with Mai, and I imagined Weevil's duel wasn't that different from the dub version and I don't care for how skimpy the Harpies are in their uncut forms. But it would be more voice-acting from the actors I love playing those characters, which would make it a treasure. I think it and Bonds Beyond Time are the only DVDs I don't have with any of the original YGO characters. (And their guest spots on GX. I don't have those either. I did watch the Paradox Brothers' guest spot on Hulu and can't say I was that impressed. The duel certainly wasn't as epic and spectacular as Yugi and Joey's duel against them. But it was nice seeing Syrus find inner strength he didn't know he had.)

I've actually watched some 5Ds. I like the Dark Signer arc and watched Carly's and Kalin's episodes for that. Then I wanted to see Kalin's redemption arc too. I really like the Duel Links event that was done for the latter. Kalin is a character who develops so much through just the few episodes he's in. I found it very vindicating how sobered he behaves when he finally realizes how horrible he's been acting. His extreme behavior change is how I tend to write characters going through the same type of phase.

I still hate the setting of Domino City after an explosion tore the city apart. Why did the creators think the fans would want to see their beloved city a wreck? It's so depressing. I refuse to accept that 5Ds absolutely happens in the future, even though I like some of the characters and arcs. I can headcanon it happening in an alternate dimension, though. I may or may not write a fic exploring that premise.

(Also, motorcycle duels will always be ridiculous. The characters can't even look at each other! I have a hard time believing that Seto designed such a thing, as the Wiki says he did.)

Azure Week was interesting and fun and now I've been preparing for Whumptober and maybe Comfortember. Two months of hurt/comfort prompts! Squeeee! I'm doing a connected story for Whumptober with Yami Marik tormenting the Big Five and I've just finished the first draft of the tenth prompt. They're all fairly short scenes. I might expand some before posting next month. We'll see. I don't think every prompt will be part of this story, as a few seem like they need to be stand-alone, but again, we'll see. I also sketched a picture when I needed a drawing prompt and used one of the Comfortember prompts. I may or may not save the picture to actually post for the prompt. That's a long time to wait, and I planned to write a fic for that prompt too.
insaneladybug: (Default)
Just like with October, many things went wrong during the Christmas season. Seriously, WTH? Most of it I don't feel like talking about or it's too private to talk about, but one thing (more minor than other things) was the Rockapella concert being postponed at the last minute because they got snowed in. And even though they were supposed to reschedule the next week, nothing has been done yet. I don't blame the band, but I am angry at whoever is delaying this. We paid for a Christmas concert, and now we can't have it. I've never seen their full Christmas concert, but I've seen several of their regular concerts. I still want to go, but this is very disappointing. I thought I would finally get to see their full Christmas concert. Both I and others have wanted them to make it a Christmas concert no matter what month it gets rescheduled to, since that's what we paid for, but I know very well that won't happen. Probably the most we could hope for is that they'll sing one Christmas song to be good sports. And of course I wouldn't have wanted anyone else to miss their Christmas concerts, but I can't help feeling angry and bitter that our concert was the only one that got cancelled because of the snow-in, even though another state's concert was the very next day. I know it's one of those things, but I'm mad anyway. It feels like a personal slap in the face by whatever likes to mess things up.

I'd rather talk about more positive things. I finally got on the Frozen bandwagon, because of all things, Dad saw part of it while baby-sitting great-grandchildren and he liked it and wanted to see it all. LOL. I think he was mostly fascinated by the CGI, because advances in technology like that have always intrigued him. Me too. But so we all saw it and I think he liked it. Mom and I loved it. So lovely to see a movie that turns tropes like love at first sight on their heads and sibling squee saving the day! Walmart had a gigantic 2 foot Olaf plush for only $15, and later $10! I wanted it, and got that for Christmas, as well as dolls of Elsa and Anna from Disney. I like the faces Disney did better than Hasbro's, although I'm surprised by the rubbery legs. While at Disney, I saw they also had plushies that are about 18 or 20 inches for only $12 each, so I got those since I didn't feel like I could ask for them after asking for dolls. I love how soft they are!

I haven't seen the sequel yet, but Read more... )

I actually liked Once Upon a Time's explanation for Elsa's powers better, where her aunt had the powers too and she apparently inherited them. Yes, I finally watched Once's Frozen arc, as Netflix got Once and after seeing Frozen, I couldn't resist seeing the characters live-action. Olaf was a glaring omission, though. I don't remember what I read of why they didn't include him. And of course, some things in the Once version were horrifying and traumatizing material, both for the characters and the viewers! It's so understandable why Ingrid got so messed-up in the head, after accidentally killing one sister and then the other sister immediately turning against her instead of realizing no one would be hurting more than Ingrid herself. I was happy that the arc ended with Ingrid getting a happy ending too.

Of course, I did not like seeing Rumpel in that arc. The writers really messed him up after how far he'd come in the first half of season 3, and I will never not be upset at that. I had to watch his season 3 sacrifice after I finished the arc to get the bad taste out of my mouth. I still consider that all of the show I consider canon ends there, although I love Elsa and Emma's friendship and would like to picture that a different version of the Frozen arc happens after my headcanon for the show diverges after Rumpel's sacrifice.

Along those lines, I had my usual thing of being sad to think that the characters would be dead now and wanted to bring them into the present to live, lol. I thought of a storyline similar to Twilight and Dawn, where Hans decides to embrace magical things to help him get what he wants and finds a spell that takes all of Arendelle to the present-day, and then there are big companies instead of kingdoms. LOL. But unlike Twilight and Dawn (or Once, which came afterwards ... hmmm, I really wonder if the creators read my stories ...), the characters show up with their memories intact, because it would be amusing to see them suddenly faced with modern technology and try to figure out how to use it. LOL. I don't know that I would really write the story, but I like picturing it as my headcanon after the shorts, anyway. I doubt I'll want Frozen II to be canon to me. I had a funny idea of Anna learning to drive and freaking Elsa out. I might buy the Wreck-It Ralph II dolls of Elsa and Anna in modern pajamas, because I definitely get a kick out of the characters in modern clothes. I already wanted the Belle from that line. I don't know if Walmart will reduce the price of the Frozen dolls, though. Some of the other sets in that line have got lowered prices now, but I wouldn't be surprised if the Frozen ones stay full-price.

I also wonder when Frozen actually does take place. I had developed this whole headcanon that it's around 1910 or 1920, because the characters from other lands are dressed similarly to the clothes in The Student Prince, which takes place around 1915. But I was watching a video on YouTube where the person thinks it's 1840 and seemed to be claiming that it's officially shown to be that in Frozen Fever. That's depressing to me because I was pretty set on my headcanon where it's more recent than that, lol.

Also, since 2017 I've been amazed by this resurgence of interest in Bob Ross. I used to watch The Joy of Painting all the time as a kid, and I think I still have an episode or two recorded, but I'd forgotten all about it and Bob Ross and couldn't remember who he was when I saw the parent of one of my church activity girls happy that she had chosen to do a school report on Bob Ross. Then I saw the Art of Chill game at Target and started seeing Bob everywhere. I finally looked him up and then I remembered! Lately I've been watching some episodes on Netflix. It's very relaxing and calming, and the pictures are just gorgeous. As an artist myself, I'm thoroughly fascinated by his techniques and how he paints such beautiful things in thirty minutes! I just love how cute he is about animals and saying things like he wants to paint more than one tree so the tree will have a friend. I almost wonder if that's where I got my obsession about nothing being alone, at least to some extent. I still have that; if I take the second to last can from a case, I often move the one remaining can to another case so it won't be alone. **headdesk.** I know it's illogical behavior, but I feel better to engage in it and it's harmless. I also love Bob ending each episode saying "God bless."

I've been toying with getting a plush of him that Walmart has. I probably will. And I just learned that there's another plush, more expensive, that Funko made. I am not a Funko fan, honestly, but this plush actually looks cute to me. They have one of Mr. Rogers in the same line, too.

I'm also watching Mystery, Inc. on Netflix. I really feel like it's too dark for Scooby-Doo, and I can't stand Velma's behavior of trying to force a relationship with Shaggy and unfairly bossing him around. If she really loved him, she'd love him for who he is. I can't imagine any other Velma being interested in him that way, though. And I think any other Velma would denounce the illogical behavior the Mystery, Inc. Velma displays. She barely has the traits that make Velma awesome. I don't really like Daphne being so ga-ga over Fred, either, and Fred being such an idiot. Shaggy and Scooby are the only ones who act like they're supposed to. I think characterization gets better later, though, and that these romantic messes don't persist through the whole series, so I want to keep watching because I'm intrigued by the overarching mystery. I might get some nice YGO plunnies from it.

I'm still writing Big Five fics and enjoying it. I'm doing a hurt/comfort one right now of Lector missing in a snowstorm.
insaneladybug: (scofield)
Now I'm calm enough that hopefully I'll remember all that I was originally going to post, lol. I should be able to see Geoffrey's Toy Box on Tuesday and I'm thrilled. Even though it's just a pinprick of Toys R Us, even a pinprick is better than nothing! From what I'm reading, lots of people are excited. Someone from Kroger even said people hadn't been this excited about something at their store in a long time, if ever.

ROTFLOL, the kitty is so silly and adorable! Yesterday I had one foot on the garage step. She decided to sit on my leg, knead, and rub her head on my face. Tonight she tried it some more. Then she went nuts and started investigating everything in the garage that she hadn't looked at before. She climbed in a wheelbarrow and went under an open umbrella positioned over it. Then she climbed around, looked at an old oven we brought from the old house, and somehow squeezed into a box full of sealed electrical supplies like plugs and cords and empty boxes. She went under a sack of wilted flowers to get in through the hole in the middle. All the flaps came up and I couldn't get her out of there for a while. She would look up at me with big round eyes and then resume digging into the box to see what was in there. **snerk.** Silly, silly kitty! I finally got her to come out by pretending to leave. Yeah, letting the kitty roam freely in the garage is a very bad idea. We were considering it for Tuesday, but I think we'll have to try something else.

(Also, she apparently killed a mouse, as there was a dead one by the garbage can. What an appropriate place for it. But ugh, this shows there are still mice in the yard. We'll have to be careful none of them get into the garage. We can't have them in the house again! Dad said he found another dead mouse a couple of months ago under the red car. Great.)

Last night Dad found a DVD with several Christmas movies on it and we watched one called Holiday Affair with Robert Mitchum and Janet Leigh. It's a clean film, despite the title, but it's one of those annoying love triangle things where the girl is engaged to a perfectly nice man, but he's not exciting enough, and when a new guy enters her life who seems more interesting, she wants him instead, and after only several days. The new guy had a great relationship with the son she had from a prior marriage (her husband was dead) and that was adorable and sweet, but I don't really ship the romance. I think the first guy was much nicer and she should have stayed with him and realized whatever she felt for the new guy was just infatuation. The new guy could have continued to be friends with the boy without trying to nose into her love life. He even stood up at the dinner table on Christmas and said he felt she should marry him instead of the guy she was engaged to. **headdesk.** And that he felt a guy had a right to ask a girl he liked to marry him, even if she was someone else's girl. She was understandably indignant at him being so bold and brazen, with the first guy and her parents all there. Of course, the script tries to twist it into her being upset because she had feelings for the new guy that she was trying to deny. But since I'm never sold on real romance happening within a matter of several days, I'm not impressed.

(Of course, ironically, I have a similar problem with the Serenity love triangle in YGO, and I have her with Duke instead of Tristan. I feel like Tristan shelters her too much, but also, I think he probably reminds her a lot of Joey, and she may think of him as another brother. She's already said she thinks of him as a friend. However, if I really thought Duke was an immoral womanizer like most of the fanbase, I would hate Cheershipping. I always felt the flirting was a facade and that he really does care about Serenity, unlike the empty-headed fan club girls. And I usually write Duke with more of the manga personality, where he is much less interested in the flirting, so he's more mature.)

I have a lot of gift cards for Amazon and I was considering getting one of those films with Richard I haven't seen yet. One of them is unfortunately one of those love triangle kind, with Richard as the nice boy who gets jilted in favor of the more exciting Frenchman the girl meets. I definitely decided against that; it would probably just make me mad that she would pass up Richard's character.

I also considered a movie about a dog that he's in. I think he plays a nice character. But the movie largely involves the dog ending up in dogfights, and even though people say you don't see the fights onscreen, I think that would bother me too much even though it is a dark part of actual history. I rejected it before because of that and I rejected it again this past week.

Then there's a suspense movie with Richard playing a nice character, but it sounded depressing, with the main character eventually ending up killed. I've passed it up multiple times because of that.

In the end, I don't think Richard has a lot of screentime in any of the films, and I'm still just not impressed by the films for one reason or another, so I opted against all of them and got The Mod Squad (the complete series for $27, squeeee!), The Odd Couple complete set ($35!), and the Pony movie soundtrack. With earlier gift cards, I got the Wreck-It Ralph soundtrack and an amazing-sounding Perry Mason book that has interviews with cast members, including Richard and H.M. Wynant! A friend of the author posted about it in the Perry Facebook group and I was ecstatic. It was published in 2015; I don't know how I managed to not know about it all this time. I can hardly wait to read the interviews and see the other stuff. It's almost 700 pages! I'll probably finally have a new blog post for my Perry blog after I look through it.

I've spent a lot of this past week trying to fix my room, because I'm so crowded I couldn't even reach my Christmas CDs. I got the idea to move some of my tapes into the living room, ones that have the PAX shows on them that we all enjoyed. Then I had enough free space to start taking down the towers on a bookcase. It feels so good to have been able to take down some of the towers I had stacked around and to have cleared out and rearranged a shelf and some stuff in the printer box. (I can hardly believe the amount of stuff that I had, well, stuffed into that shelf. Good grief! Once it was gone or put other places, I had enough space to move a huge stack of magazines into the space!) I have an old printer in here that I was going to use, but it needs a new toner and doesn't work right, so I've ended up just stacking things on it instead and using the up-to-date printer downstairs when I want to print. Now I want to somehow get it out of here and maybe put a small wheeled bookcase in its place. I think I mentioned that, and that I can't find wheeled bookcases anymore. But I found a wheeled metal cart that would hold DVDs, so I might get that. I also need a nightstand by the door instead of the bags and box that my backpack keeps sliding off of. I ended up accidentally breaking a picture frame trying to stop the backpack from falling. It's amazing the glass didn't break.

My laptop's DVD/CD drive suddenly stopped working. I don't know if it's because something went wrong in another part of the computer and that's affecting it or if it just died, but it won't read any discs at all. I've tried just about every possible solution, even seeing if it will play in Safe Mode to tell if it's a software problem. That didn't help. Ironically, I was trying to play the Wreck-It Ralph soundtrack when it borked. I don't think the soundtrack was responsible, since it played on another player just fine, but it is darkly amusing to think that Ralph wrecked my drive. I'm going to bring the gaming desktop in from the hall, since I really need a working DVD/CD drive for multiple reasons. (It's not literally a gaming computer as the technical term goes, but I mostly use it for gaming because it has the space for big games.) But I'm not ready to give up the laptop. It still works okay, basically, and we've been together since 2010. It was hard giving up the Gateway too, but at least I had more time to prepare for that since it acted up for months before giving out. This was so sudden. So I'm going to keep using the laptop for everything other than DVD/CD drive needs.

Yesterday I demonstrated I have the Big Five on the brain way too much by dreaming about them. And it was Lector hurt/comfort too. I'm debating if there will be any such scene in my current fic. It's possible.

I'm also debating if I'll go full-blown Azureshipping in this fic or another in the current timeline. With the old fics, I preferred keeping it friendshippy and the Azureshipping fics were in the future instead of the present. Since I have Cheershipping in the present in the new timeline, however, it makes it more tempting to have Azureshipping too. I've been teetering in an Azureshipping mood ever since I decided to make the Tea plush, and the feelings have been even stronger lately. I just love that pairing. Crump has kidnapped Tea in the fic (or rather, his soulless body did; Portman couldn't bring back the trapped souls, but she healed and revived the bodies and they're running loose all over town. Lector, who does have his soul since he was allowed a second chance after helping Mokuba, is highly shaken and disturbed), so either it's just because Crump likes pretty, young girls (ugh, dirty old man) or because even soulless, there's some recognition that taking Tea will hurt Seto. Everyone else is occupied with stopping Gansley and Nesbitt from hurting Mokuba, but once the dust settles there, they'll realize Crump hasn't been seen and discover Tea's missing. (Johnson already attacked Seto and Yami Bakura sent his body to the Shadow Realm.)

Then I finally got around to reading the details on the Wreck-It Ralph sequel, since I probably won't get to see it in theatres and I wanted to know what happens. I have ... mixed feelings. Spoilers )
insaneladybug: (schrank)
So this past day was real fun. **sarcasm.** I wanted to play Duel Links so badly that I fought for hours to get Steam to work so I could play the PC version. Steam never cooperated. I don't know whether something messed up in the download or if there were just too many people signed in at once, but I had a horrible time connecting to the servers to even just sign in, and then whenever I got in, I couldn't get it to connect to the servers to start a download of Duel Links. **headdesk.** I tried switching my download region several times, I made sure Avast and Windows Firewall weren't blocking anything, I tried again after booting the computer up fresh later in the day ... all to no avail. Finally I uninstalled out of disgust. I don't know whether to bother reinstalling and seeing whether I had a faulty installation the first time. Even if I get it to work right, there's no guarantee the game will work. Technically, it says it will only run starting on the next OS up from mine. But Steam itself said it will run on my OS, so that's why I tried installing it. I thought the game would probably play through the Steam app and therefore might possibly work. But I didn't even get the chance to try and see if it would. We do have computers in the house that run on Windows 10 instead, but those are Dad's computers and I'd rather have the game on a computer that's mine. But don't think I haven't been tempted to try anyway. UGH.

(I have wondered if the thing's inability to download the game has anything to do with the fact that for some bizarre reason, the computer switched to not allowing me to download updates from inside programs several months ago. I have to remember to go to the Flash website and download the full version of the update every time there is one, instead of just being able to click the little gray box when it pops up, like I used to. I have no idea what happened. I didn't change my antivirus or firewall programs around that time. Heh, I can't even update from within my antivirus program, so it would be hilariously ironic if it's the culprit. I think I tried disabling it and the problem still happened, though. But regardless, even if that's why it couldn't connect to the servers to get the game, that wouldn't explain why it also couldn't connect to the servers to sign in in the first place!)

Then I went back to the idea of maybe getting the $30 Smartphone from Walmart that Dad has and see if I could play the game on that. I've been considering the Smartphone for a while for several reasons, but right now, wanting the game so badly is the main one. It would be like buying a portable gaming system, heh. I don't need a Smartphone, since I have a working phone and my precious tablet, but the tablet can't play the game. Anyway, so I wanted to make sure the game was compatible with that phone before buying it, so I asked Dad to let me just check something a minute. Unfortunately, he wasn't signed in on his Google account and it wouldn't let me even see something so simple in the Play Store without being signed in. He doesn't really use Google and I figured he wouldn't remember his sign-in info, and he didn't deny that when I pointed it out after he offered to sign in, so I finally gave up and signed in, figuring I could easily sign out after checking. Oh brother, was I wrong. #(&$#(&$ Google wouldn't let me out once I was signed in! There were instructions on how to sign out of the Play Store and they didn't work. It was outrageous! Finally, the only way I could sign out was to sign in on the phone's browser and delete the phone from the recent devices on my account. UGH! I hate Google. Problem is, they operate several things I really like, from YouTube to Blogger to Google Sites. And my tablet has an Android OS. I can't get away from Google. And the game is compatible with the phone, so I seriously want it now. It doesn't look like anything else will work for me to be able to play it.

Then there's my longing of merchandise.... I still can't find the Yami Bakura Hexor or get the pin the rare times I see it, but I turned up a seller on eBay who has the Seto and Yami Bakura magnets, as well as magnets of other characters. There's enough of them to make me feel like the price is worth it. There are even doubles of some of them, so I might be able to do some gifting with the extras. And the price has just lowered! I think I'm the only one interested, so even though it's been turned into an auction instead of a Buy It Now, I'm hoping I can snag it. But I really shouldn't get both it and the phone right now, so now I'm stuck in another dilemma. I don't want to miss out on the magnets. I had previously sort of decided I couldn't afford the lot, but then I got a real good look at everything in it when I looked on the laptop. The app just doesn't magnify things as nicely as the website does. Once I really saw everything I'd be getting, I felt the price was worth it.

If only the PC version of Duel Links would work, that would solve everything. I could get the magnets and not worry about the phone right now.

Oh well, I guess at least I can feel relieved that my burning desire isn't to buy that Yami Bakura figure that's over $100. Gah. Making the plushie has soothed that urge. Plushie's certainly more cuddly than the figure anyway. But I love that dynamic pose....

You know what's kind of creepy/weird about the plushie? I noticed that there's a long pinkish-red mark on the left arm, right near where the knife wound was on the show/in the manga. I have no idea how it got there. I didn't put it there. I didn't bleed on the plushie (although I got needle-stabbed several times). And I don't remember it being there when I first got the plushie home (although it must have been). I tried to take a picture of it, but it didn't show up well enough to be worth posting. Seriously, though, that is CREEPY.

Also creepy is that I watched Yami Bakura's duel against Bonz (again) and then the Arkana duel and got this really bizarre and weird plunnie of Yami Marik trapping Bakura as a Duel Monsters character in a duel (maybe other characters too) and then forcing Yami Bakura to play against him, Yami Marik. And eventually during the duel, Yami Marik gets hold of the Ectoplasmer card and wants to extract Bakura's soul and attack Yami Bakura with it. Yami Bakura is horrified and outraged. He tries to prevent that from happening, but fails. Only Bakura manages to fight back himself and instead of attacking Yami Bakura, he protects him and prevents another attack of Yami Marik's from getting through. Eventually Yami Bakura manages to win and Bakura's soul is restored, of course. They're both pretty badly shaken by the experience, although I think it affects Yami Bakura the most. I'll probably write that as a blurb. I doubt it will go into the current fic, although who knows what might happen. I'd kind of prefer it to be a oneshot unto itself, though. I really like having Yami Marik and Yami Bakura as arch-enemies. I really felt rather sad they never had another clash, especially after their intriguing parting words in the manga version of their duel.
insaneladybug: (kaibabrothers)
On Dreamwidth, I'm trying a Kaiba brothers icon. You know, I think it's the first time I've ever used a Seto icon of any sort....

Here's pictures of my two main Marik cosplays, from many years ago. http://cubeupload.com/codes/cad37e

The first two pictures are from the first attempt, a very ghetto cosplay with a blue shirt instead of lavender, but I was ecstatic when I got it for my birthday, both because it was awesome in general and because it was close enough of a color that I figured I could use it for my Marik costume, which was already underway at that point (I'd been planning it since July). You can see the gold foil armbands, which, as mentioned, were very uncomfortable to wear for long. They looked awesome, though! The Millennium Rod was made from a very heavy cardboard cylinder (probably off aluminum foil), a miniature bowling ball, and cardboard shapes, all covered in gold foil and taped together with clear packing tape. The cape was used pretty much only because I wasn't keen on walking around in public in something sleeveless, heh. And behind me you can see my Bakura and Marik commissioned plushies from SetsunaKou. Also, my YGO board game and Star Wars Trivial Pursuit (which I love to play, but rarely do; it's a little embarrassing because I'm so good at it, LOL).

The bottom picture, from the following year, is five together because it used to be on CosplayLab, which has now shut down. Waaah. The accurate lavender hoodie I sewed from a pattern. As I recall, the pattern was for something longer, a sweater or something, and I modified it. (And yes, I used the sewing machine that time, instead of trying to do it by hand.) The middle pictures are from the church Halloween party; the others are of the very small bedroom at the old house. I still have the Balto standee, but I haven't been able to display it ever since we moved. **sniffle.** Of course, clicking on the pictures makes them bigger. I shouldn't have to say that, but it's incredible how many people I've encountered who don't seem to know that.

... Huh, since the bottom picture is labeled 2004, that means the first attempt must have been from 2003. I didn't remember I had both Bakura and Marik that soon; I thought I only commissioned Bakura in the summer! And it takes weeks to get the plushies, although less weeks back then. I don't know; I am seriously confused. Maybe I commissioned Bakura in May and Marik a couple of months later? I will have to think about this.

That blond wig I'm using has got a lot of mileage. I originally bought it to use for my Margaret Houlihan cosplay (yes). I love when I can reuse wigs for other costumes! And I know the wig looks consistently white in the pictures, but I swear it isn't.

I'm amazed at how fast I'm moving along with the Seto plush. Shirt's done and I'm currently hemming the coat. I don't think I'll do any more tonight, but later today I'm hoping to do all the rest, finishing the hemming and sewing the sleeves and attaching them. Then I'll take pictures and display him while I try to figure out how to make the locket. Normally it takes me around a week to get a plushie done. Maybe this shows I've done it enough times by now that it's a swifter task.

The anime and the manga both could have done more with Seto than they did, but in both it really is moving how different he becomes by the end. Especially in the anime, since there you get to see him move past the hate and not just think about it. All of that content is anime-only. The Seto from the first episode could never have been the hero he became in later seasons, or at least, I don't think so. So while he still has a long way to go (and I'll see what I can do about that in my fics), he did come a long way from where he started.

It is sad, though, that the storyline had him get so bad in Battle City at all. In the final episode taking place at Duelist Kingdom, he actually seems peaceful, happy, and respectful. I fully believed he was going to loosen up after that. Instead, he got a thousand times worse than he'd already been! In my old timeline, he is already very relaxed and pleasant with Yugi-tachi in the early stories, albeit still aloof. That was because I believed that was how he would be after Duelist Kingdom. Later on, when I saw he wasn't that way at all, I think I half-unconsciously started changing how I wrote him to match canon more. I remember at least one reader wondering about that. For my new timeline, since it follows canon to the end before branching out, he still has a long way to go. But in Dragons at Dawn, Yugi speculates that Seto does think of them as friends and just can't admit it out loud yet. That was inspired by Ishizu's words to Seto before Atem's duel with Yami Marik. Of course, in any case, I think I've mostly toned down Seto's rudeness to original Japanese version levels. I cringe at how the dub made him sound so much worse than he was on many occasions. When I am displeased at how the dub handled something, I tend to write from the original Japanese version and pretend that the dub mangling didn't happen. But I will always write with the English names, locales, and humor, since that's "my" YGO.

Occasionally the dub actually improves on something. One thing I noticed is that in the original Japanese, Marik doesn't seem to acknowledge how badly he treated Rishid. In the dub, he does. And then there's how the dub tried to give Duke more of a noble reason for going after Yugi then just being whiny about not being able to get his game going because Yugi defeated Pegasus. In the dub, he's upset about that, alright, but what bends him out of shape the most is that he believes Yugi cheated to win. So he wants to expose Yugi as a cheat.

(Of course, then there's the sticky situation that I hear in the original, Yami Yugi can actually will certain cards to come up next, which definitely is cheating. As cheesy as the Heart of the Cards thing is, I far prefer that explanation to what's going on in the original. Although in the case of facing Pegasus, I wouldn't begrudge Yami Yugi willing cards to appear to win....)

And I'd forgotten I have so much of the YGO manga. Most of it I bought from Borders because of their awesome 40% off coupons. I have 30 out of 42 total (including YGO R). And I'm confused that I don't seem to have Duelist #19. I was sure I had that one. I must just be remembering reading some of it in the store. I'm missing 1, 4, and 5 of the first seven, and 1, 2, 4, 7, 11, 13, 19, 21, and 22 of Duelist. I have all of R and Millennium World. And the Movie ani-manga. Also, I am still thoroughly grossed-out by all the gratuitous shots of Yami Bakura being eaten by the darkness in Duelist #20. It looks much more gruesome in the manga than in the anime. Of course, it is absolutely horrifying in any case, and I had to look at other parts of the screen a lot while watching those scenes in the episodes, but I see no need to depict it the way the manga did. Give me the anime version any day.

And I still think anime Yami Marik is a way better villain because he's more creative and personalizes his torture. In the manga, he just torments Mai with sickening physical depictions, including one of my most hated tropes. In the anime, he tailors his torture to her insecurities. That was repugnant, but honestly brilliant. In my fic Taming the Darkness, which is of course anime-based despite the manga quote title, he tortures Thief King Bakura along anime-style lines (although he does get manga-style gruesome at some points, as what he tends to torture his victim with are mainly illusions of Ryou Bakura being harmed in all manner of different ways, or him betraying Yami Bakura, and reenactments of the Kul Elna massacre). Taming the Darkness and its predecessor, White is in the Winter Night, are both very important to my current timeline and also the darkest and most disturbing fics I've ever written. Both have a category of Horror, although White is in the Winter Night is mostly psychological horror while Taming the Darkness is a physical/psychological horror mix. Both also develop Bakura and Yami/Thief King Bakura's relationship a great deal, which was certainly necessary when following canon and taking place shortly after it. Yami/Thief King is separate from Zorc at last and trying to figure out who he is, and who Bakura is to him, and Bakura likewise is trying to decide what Yami Bakura means to him, and they get into more than one argument as Bakura finally lets loose with a lot of pent-up feelings from canon.

... Also, manga Bakura seems to either be an idiot or extremely innocently clueless, always wanting the Ring back and not seeming to realize there's any problem with it. I was thinking he remembered there was a problem because of what happened in his manga introduction arc. Maybe I'd better read that one again.

I know I'm down on the manga a lot, but I usually do prefer the TV or movie versions of most things. But I really do respect the manga for being what came first and bringing the characters to life for the first time. And I do prefer Duke's manga intro and some parts of Millennium World in the manga, although I prefer Seto being present for that last arc, as he was in the anime. I'm a little surprised I have so much of the manga since I do prefer the anime, but I think the reason is because I wanted some new YGO following the anime's end and the manga certainly fit that bill in some ways, LOL. Millennium World, as I recall, I happily bought before the dubbed anime version happened ... I think? ("Happily," because I was so eager to see what Yami Bakura was like in ancient Egypt.) Because I remember when the anime version came out and I was disappointed by some things being mostly absent, like Atem and Thief King's intriguingly deep conversations in the early scenes. At least, I think some volumes came out before the English anime version, but it finished up after the anime did. I seem to remember getting some of the volumes at the new house, and we moved when the final season was underway. Then R was the other manga thing I really looked forward to. One of the characters, Pete Coppermine, has occasionally popped up in my fics as Duke's neighbor. I should read R again. As is usual with filler arcs, I loved it.

And I feel somewhat guilty that I've always enjoyed seeing Yami Bakura being villainous, to some extent. Naturally I don't like seeing him hurt people (... usually, although I did like his protectiveness of Bakura against that mean gym teacher in the manga, despite disagreeing with his methods, and I felt his dispatching of the thugs that wanted to kill and rob him in the tavern in ancient Egypt was self-defense), but sometimes I like seeing his schemes and him being smooth and cool, and sometimes I get a kick out of that mad cackle and his sarcastic wit. I know many feel the same way, about him or other villains, but I'm usually not that way. Usually I only like antagonists because of them showing goodness and/or repenting. And I certainly prefer writing Yami Bakura as an antihero rather than a villain. But ... I've always found him a fun and intriguing villain in canon. He was in the first episode I ever saw (The Evil Spirit of the Ring), and I remember hoping it wasn't the only time we'd see him because he was just too interesting. He and Bakura were my first favorite characters and certainly part of what made me so excited about this strange new show. I was hooked from that episode. I've rewatched it so many times, and I even remembered that I watched it in Spanish on my old DVD at least once, just to hear the Spanish voices. And I'd rewatched it so many times in English by then that I think I mostly provided my own subtitles. LOL.

Back to the manga rambles, one thing I've long puzzled over is how to have Duke's manga intro plus the anime thing of mind-controlled Bandit Keith both happen in my verse, since both involved the breaking of the Puzzle and a fire. I tentatively sorted out some of the problem by having Duke's intro involve that creepy Devil's Boardgame go haywire and age the house they're in so it starts collapsing. (Yeah, I'm not going to burn down or collapse Duke's store.) But as for the Puzzle getting broke, I think that still happens in both adventures, unless I alter Keith's escapade so it doesn't happen there. Maybe someday I'll try to actually write Duke's intro as per my verse, which is mostly manga but with the anime inclusions of the store belonging to Duke and not his dad, his store manager "David," and the apology scene. And with my own concept of them being in a house that ends up aging into collapse. And I didn't have his dad turn good, but I still wonder if I should have let that happen. I think I was influenced by a friend who felt he would probably go back to his old ways despite the redemption. For manga verse, honestly, I feel that he did truly turn good. There were glimpses of a good person still there all along and I think that won out. But for my verse, it worked better for him to not turn good and to instead leave off disowning Duke. It gave Duke a lot of issues to work through. Yet I feel guilty about doing it that way, feeling it's not fair to the character of Duke's father. So I continue to waffle about that from time to time and wonder if I should try to redeem him in my verse, either by him coming back after being thought dead or else him coming to Duke as a ghost and wanting forgiveness. (My verse had him die in the collapsing house when he refused to be helped by Duke and Yugi and fell instead.)

I'm rambling again.... I should be working with my fics!

Sigh.

Dec. 20th, 2017 11:19 pm
insaneladybug: (Default)
I finally got around to watching the other Orange Islands episode not included on the DVD set, which was presumably removed for the ridiculous reason of a non-purple Jynx being present for one minute. Seriously? Color her purple in those few frames if it's going to be such a problem! The Prima character was really interesting and I basically liked her, although I thought she was rather rude to Misty and Tracey at the beginning and I did not like how she decided to deal with Team Rocket. Encasing them in ice and then blasting them off like that? At least you saw the ice was melting so they weren't trapped like that, but that seemed pretty brutal. Not that all the electric shocks aren't brutal, but at least I'm more used to that method of getting rid of them and I know they can seem to deal with it pretty well. Encasing them in ice ... ugh.

Of the two episodes absent from the set, Stage Fight! is definitely the better one. It was sweet seeing the Trainer trying and finally succeeding in bonding with her Raichu, and I loved that when one of the Pokemon hurts James, Jessie goes ballistic and gets protective. "How dare you hit my friend?!?!!!"

I also finally got around to watching the Sabrina episodes again. I've put them off since I really wasn't fond of them due to so many tropes I hate. But they were among the last Indigo episodes I hadn't re-watched, so I finally decided to see them. I'd already watched the Tower of Terror one before, but it's sort of the middle part of the Sabrina trilogy even though she's not in it. I'm not crazy about it because Team Rocket seemed to be treated especially bad in it by the writers. It felt like a Warner Brothers cartoon with all the times Ash accidentally hurt them without even realizing they were in there. That doesn't generally happen. If it did, there's no way I'd watch the show.

Sabrina is one disturbing person. On the one hand, I guess I feel a little sad for her being lonely and wanting friends, because I think her bottled-up feelings were mostly sorrow and regret over missed opportunities, and that's always sad. But mostly I think, "Hey, you chose that path yourself, Honey. Deal with it." I mean, she deliberately pushed everyone away because she wanted to hone her psychic powers. She hurt people with her powers over and over. And she freaking turned her mother into a doll. And both her parents are all, "Oh, she's really not a bad girl." **headdesk.** Well, it would have been nice to have seen some indication of that. At least with Team Rocket, we're shown their good sides very often. If we weren't, they wouldn't mean anything to me. With Sabrina, you just don't see it. She's just this cold-hearted brat who apparently has a split personality, but the other personality, who looks maybe ten years younger, isn't very glowing either. It looks like she only helped Ash and company because she wanted to entrap them. Little kid antagonists are just really really creepy. And the older personality finally laughs and that breaks the spells over the people she hurt and that somehow makes everything okay. She should have at least showed regret or sorrow for all the pain she caused to so many people. There was no indication she felt bad at all. Even Team Rocket shows sorrow and regret for some of their plots.

Haunter was quite a jerk too, really. He promised Ash repeatedly that he would help, and then he kept disappearing. When he finally showed up to make Sabrina laugh, I definitely had the feeling that he was doing it for kicks and not to help Ash. It's debatable if he stopped Team Rocket's Pikachu plot to help Ash or if that was also just for kicks. But honestly, he could have just stopped when he foiled their plans. He didn't have to deliberately make them fall, especially when they were all afraid the drop was too much to survive. (And ugh, Jessie wanting James and Meowth to let go so at least she would survive.... I wonder if she says that in the Japanese. Regardless, I doubt she really meant it, since we do see that when they're hurt, she's upset. But it was a nasty thing to say.) Haunter is sadistic. He likes seeing people get hurt. He laughed when Ash and Pikachu got electrocuted and trapped under a chandelier! Ugh.

And then Ash's naivete ... oh gosh. I'd forgotten how stupid he came across in those episodes. I don't get it, either, because while yes, he has small moments of not knowing this or that in other episodes, it's not as bad as the Sabrina episodes make him seem. Just ... ugggh. If he'd been like that in every episode ... oh the horror.

And poor Team Rocket.... I guess they didn't fare too badly in the first of the three episodes, but the other two.... All the enhanced slapstick crud in the second one, and then in addition to the Haunter problem in the third one, some idiot comes to fill up the hole they made by crashing through the sidewalk and doesn't even check to see if anyone's in there first. So they're calling for help and Ash thinks he hears them, but no one else seems to (a running gag, but worse here). Ash doesn't hear them calling for help, but he's sure he hears them. Had he not been influenced to not worry about it, he would have come to investigate, seen the problem, and tried to get them out of the hole before they were cemented. He's shown that when he is aware that there's life-threatening danger, he will help them in spite of their constant stalking of him and trying to get Pikachu. The problem is, he usually isn't aware of it. They do thankfully manage to get out of the hole before the cement sets, and hopefully they find some way to get the cement off of them before it hardens, but seriously, ugggh. They probably could have sued the moron who was filling the obviously person-shaped hole without even looking in it first.

So yeah, I still don't like those episodes and having re-watched them once, I don't think I'm likely to get them out again at all. I like the basic plot idea of "Hey, let's have Ash go up against a psychic." But it could have been handled sooo much better.

(Also, since when does a psychic have the ability to do horrifying magic things like turning people into objects? Makes no sense. For my crossover, since I did not want that kind of thing to be possible, I had Misty say that the anime did that but in real-life, Sabrina could only hypnotize people into thinking things like that had happened to them.)

Then I was fooling around on Google Search looking for a picture of Jessie and James pretending to be Hawaiian girls from the first Sabrina episode and it showed me an XY episode where they pretend to be Ash and Serena. WTH. So I watched some of that. It looks like after the experiment in having them darker and serious in Best Wishes (why did the U.S. version call it Black and White?), XY went back to the old standard formula of silly plans and defeats. Gotta say, though, dressing up as Ash and company and getting everyone mad at them seems like the slimiest trick they've ever pulled. And I think that in past seasons, James wouldn't have liked the idea. Chalk another one up for Classic Era.

Then my book arrived and it seemed like it had been seriously misnamed. Team Rocket, honestly, isn't even in the book that much, which is a total WTH, and they're not able to come to the rescue. They hold their own at first, but then get blasted off by Team Flare, who takes the Pokemon. I may change my mind and return it, but for now my mindset is that I suppose I will keep it for the pretty pictures, and since I didn't have to pay that much for it, but it's one of those cases of "Had I been able to see it first, I probably wouldn't have bought it." But at least I was skeptical from the beginning, although I was definitely expecting more than I got. I was thinking Team Rocket would be the main characters throughout and that they would indeed get to save the day, even if they ended up blasting off at the end.

The shirt also arrived and it looks great! It's sealed in plastic and I don't think I'll open it up until Christmas, but the design is very big and it looks like it's ingrained into the shirt instead of being a lame iron-on that can crack and peel off. Awesome! I can't for the life of me imagine why that lady at the local T-Shirt shop would tell me that their new, more expensive process was so much better. All it was was making a raised design that can peel and crack. In what universe is that better than their old way, which ingrained the design in the shirt so that won't happen?!

Uggggh.

Nov. 17th, 2017 03:18 am
insaneladybug: (schrank)
Ugggh. This has been a day when so many things go wrong and very few things go right. About the only thing going right was getting to spend some time with my local friend. That was fun. The horrible insomnia beforehand wasn't fun. Neither was fighting with the computer for hours because apparently Flash and all its other Adobe products were so out of date they were messing things up and they hadn't bothered to tell me they needed updating long ago. When they get like that, it takes an hour or more to update when it should only take 10 minutes.

And I believe I mentioned everyone getting interested in Scarecrow and Mrs. King. I was the only one in the household who wasn't thrilled by the prospect of the characters getting romantically involved. I know how that sort of thing usually changes the whole show, ruins characters and relationships, and can totally fall short of people's expectations.

Season 4 started strong and was just a mess by the end. Of course, the female lead's near-absence from most of the final episodes was most likely because the actress was fighting breast cancer at the time, so a lot of that can be forgiven ... although I think they should have just gone on hiatus until she was well enough to be in the episodes as a main character again and not just as a walk-on role in her own show. Of course, maybe that wasn't an option. They were probably being pressured to get the season finished. Ratings had already dropped and they gambled with the marriage thing to try to pick them up. But the episodes with very little of Amanda right after the wedding probably went the rest of the way in killing the show. There's only one episode after the wedding where she even has much of a part. And the very last aired episode had them having marriage problems and Lee really being kind of a jerk to her (6 pages of quirks he didn't like about her?!) until the end of the episode.

I'm used to keynote episodes being lame, and the marriage episode was really lame. I expected them to be on a case for most of it, as they were, but I'd expected a better case. It was so pathetic. And then the honeymoon had Amanda critically shot and that was the first of the episodes that didn't have her much. I hate having someone badly hurt on a special occasion to begin with, and then not having them in the show much because of it, or even afterwards, makes it so much worse.

One thing we loved about the show was that it was pretty clean. Season 4 had many innuendos with unmarried characters, both the leads and other characters. That was another thing I was afraid would happen once romance was brought into it.

I also think Francine was usually shafted by the writers in all seasons. There was the issue of how sad she felt that Lee wasn't as interested in spending time with her anymore, even as a friend, which made me really feel for her and relate to her. In some ways, I think Francine was the real underdog of the series, and I tend to root for underdogs. (Of course, I rooted for Amanda too, but I really feel sad for how the writers treated Francine. Amanda, on the other hand, usually got a good break.) Then Francine was the trained agent, but it seemed like she was always getting in trouble and unable to get herself out of it, whereas Amanda was able to figure out how to get out of it despite having no training. That would be okay a time or two, but the way it was set up, Francine just came off looking incompetent a lot. I was glad that at least one of the last episodes showed her being a resourceful agent and pulling some Jim West level tricks to get out of a locked crate. The episode also revealed some of her backstory, how her dad pushed her to compete in a man's world and she felt she had no choice, which was both interesting and sad. She also seemed to have some longing for romance. Early episodes seemed to show she liked being an agent, though, without much interest in settling down and with an apparent dislike of kids. I rather prefer that version of the character (even though I don't dislike kids).

It was also frustrating how Francine seemed to go back and forth on characterization. Season 1 had her being rather passive-aggressive to Amanda, season 2 had her being nicer, than seasons 3 and 4 had her being nastier again, especially in 3. In 4 she was nice again sometimes.

It was neat seeing Amanda progress from being a civilian worker to actually having a job as a trained agent. But I have to admit, I think a lot of the charm in the show came from her housewife skills coming in handy on cases, rather than her just being another agent with a gun. One of the most priceless exchanges was in an early episode, when Francine complimented her on some wild driving and she said it came from taking her kids to the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade. ROTFLOL.

Ultimately, I miss the show when things were at a friendship level. I think season 2 was when it was at its best. I didn't like the cheeky, cute approach of the show four years ago, but I warmed up to it and now I miss the classic episodes when there was friendship stuff going on and there were plots like Amanda being given a weird, mind-altering drug or a hitwoman having plastic surgery to look just like Amanda. I had all seasons on my Amazon list, but I think I'll remove season 3 since that's when things started getting mushy. We watched it all from Netflix and there are very few episodes there that I'd like to rewatch. On the other hand, I want season 2 more now than ever, not just for the Luke episode but because that was the show's high point. I might also like season 1. Lee was kind of standoffish in season 1, though. Season 2 was just perfection.

I'm worried Mom won't even want to watch the episodes we haven't seen of 1 and 2, though, or rewatch the classics from 2, because she's so frustrated by how 4 spiraled downhill. I don't think that should make us hate the part of the show that was good, but she tends to feel that if a show ends bad, what's the point of seeing any of it. I can feel that way too, depending on the show. In this case, I see no reason why I have to accept all the seasons into my headcanon. I'd rather just think of the first two seasons as canon and then it splits into two different paths and the path in my mind probably stays closer to season 2. And if they ever do get romantically involved, the show wouldn't lose the charm that made it so special in the first place.

I feel sad for Mom getting so disappointed, especially since she was so excited when Dad presented season 4 as an anniversary present. But honestly, if she wants a good show with a married team of crime-solvers, Hart to Hart is way better at handling that angle (most of the time). She loves that show too. I wish I could have found out things about season 4 of Scarecrow beforehand, like Amanda not being in her own show much after the wedding. There weren't user reviews of those episodes on IMDB, I don't think. Maybe I should have read the reviews on season 4 on Amazon, if there were any. Maybe they wouldn't have helped, but maybe they would have. Mom might have still wanted to see 4 anyway, but at least if we could have been prepared for those lame twists, it wouldn't have been such a let-down for her.

In lighter viewing news, I finally got hold of a copy of the third Pokemon movie from the library, as well as the later Lucario film. I loved them both and want to own them. I especially loved that Team Rocket really didn't do anything villainous in either film, they helped save Ash in the third film (and obviously just didn't want him dead, in spite of Jessie's excuse about why they saved him), and that Meowth saved Pikachu and didn't think once about stealing Mew in the Lucario film. He just seemed sad most of the time and like he wanted to go back to Jessie and James. And it was heartbreaking when he thought they were dead.

I never watch episodes in order if I can help it, and on the last time I was able to catch a couple of episodes, for some reason I decided I wanted to see the last Orange Islands episode and see how Johto was set up. I ended up supremely sad to think of that arc coming to an end. For some reason, the Orange Islands seems to be my favorite Pokemon season. Part of it is probably my love of the second movie. And Team Rocket (especially James) getting some chances to shine in episodes. But that's not all it is. For some reason, the whole area and the way the arc is set up fascinates me. I can't explain why, especially since I don't even like tropical locations that much. But it's my favorite, even above season 1 in some ways. (Although I still have those special season 1 episodes I love as major favorites too.) I'm glad I don't watch episodes in order so there's still a few Orange Islands episodes I haven't seen yet. I think, though, that for my next viewing session, I may want to settle in with Pokemon and Turtles episodes I already know I love, especially when it's been such a bummer day for the most part.

Yesterday I struggled with a scene in my multi-chapter fic for a long time and finally accepted that I needed to write my oneshot fic about the starfish Pokemon before posting any of the bigger fic. Some references just wouldn't make sense otherwise. I knew it wouldn't take long to write, and indeed, it was done in less than 90 minutes. I had a horrible time actually posting it, which was another frustration, but I finally got it up. Maybe later today I'll start posting the bigger fic.

I also worked some on the Turtles fic. I can write about the Pokemon characters, but I don't really click with them as I do the 87 Turtles crew, writing-wise, and it felt so good to get back to Baxter and Barney.

It's interesting how the two shows have some similar humor, though. Both are fond of breaking the fourth wall. Both are light and silly and usually have fairly happy endings.

YGO is really the deeper show between it and Pokemon, and it's certainly better on characterization, but it's interesting how Pokemon has the depth of real animals while YGO is just cards (except in certain circumstances, of course). I will always love YGO better, but I think Pokemon's lighter nature is more in line with how tired I am of dark things right now.
insaneladybug: (teamrocket)
It's really confusing when characters can frustrate you so much and yet you can have sympathy for them.

It seems like all three Team Rocket members get chances to both be real jerks and to be nice. I suppose that's realistic, good and bad qualities, but it's frustrating both as a writer and as a fan. It makes it hard to know how to write for them. It also makes hard to understand why I even like them, considering that the bad traits tend to press all the wrong buttons for me.

While Jessie is definitely the most abusive, James and Meowth can be that way too. I hate it when James or Jessie beats up on Meowth. But I don't like when Meowth scratches them just because they've said something he thinks is stupid. I can't decide whether James always had an abusive streak or if he just picked it up from Jessie, but it upsets me whenever he hurts a Pokemon. The only time I felt slightly more forgiving for that was in Pokemon Shipwreck, since they were all half-crazed and starved being stuck on that raft after nearly dying and finding out Magikarp was pretty much useless for everything just pushed him over the edge. And even at that, I was still upset.

Anyway, since I just can't stand abusive behavior in a character, I wonder if I should even try to write James as being a relatively nice person. Yet canon supports that side of things too, in many episodes. And he is overall less abusive than Jessie. Usually he's the punching bag. I wonder if James beats up on Meowth and occasionally other Pokemon to let off his frustration over Jessie abusing him. (That, and maybe also, he's trying to look tougher than she might think he is.) He doesn't dare strike her, and he hardly ever verbally expresses how upset he is at being abused, so maybe going after something smaller than him is his solution. That's sadly realistic. And it doesn't make me feel much better about the situation, but it is something to ponder.

Of course, with Jessie one assumes her rotten early life is why she's so abusive. And then canon sometimes shows that she does care about James and Meowth. But I still don't like it, and since she's the most abusive I can't deny I've always had thoughts that maybe James should get away from her. But that's too sad because they're a team and a weird family. I feel the same about characters such as Kaoru on Rurouni Kenshin. I just can't seem to like her, yet since she's part of the team and the characters love her in spite of her abuse, I wouldn't want to split up the team.

I wonder if the abusiveness goes away for all three of them as the show goes on. That would certainly be one plus about the later stuff. It's hard to picture James in some of those later episodes as being that way. But then you have to deal with things like Noodles Roamin' Off, which I found really OOC, at least in Jessie abandoning James and telling him to go back to Jessiebelle.

Then, back to earlier ventures, you have things like Meowth nearly being abandoned when he's sick in The Problem With Paras, yet on the other hand, James and Jessie helping Meowth in Go West, Young Meowth or worrying about Meowth in Meowth Rules! (And Meowth abandoning them in the latter, yet feeling bad about it, unlike them in the Paras episode.) The characterization just seems so inconsistent. One episode they're ready to abandon each other. The next, they're worrying about each other. What are you supposed to do with characters like that?! How do you write for them?! I would like to just think about the things that made me like them and still make me like them, namely, when they show their good sides. But it's hard to ignore these traits that I detest so much. In fact, it's impossible. And it makes me wonder if I should give up the whole idea of even trying to tell these stories. I feel like the characters aren't worth my time or my love. Yet the part of me that still cares about them and the good that's in them wants to tell these stories. Usually when I get upset like this, I try to watch one of the episodes where I really liked them and it helps.

I really think that my story needs more content and should be fleshed out more and maybe deal with these problems more than it did. Yet it's hard to know exactly how to approach them in detail. I had the spirit pointing out to James that he was making excuses for Jessie and that's something abuse victims often do. And Jessie later acknowledges that she isn't very nice sometimes and she doesn't like the part of herself that hurts James and Meowth, but that's about as far as it went. Well, that and her later saying she'll try to be a better person. I should probably also acknowledge more that James and Meowth have been abusive at times too. I wasn't thinking about that as much until this week.

And I am aware that the show is largely slapstick humor with the abuse and the blasting off, yadda yadda, but I've never been able to approach things like that as being normal, even if it apparently is in the verse. A few people complained in the past that I was taking the blasting off too seriously, but a lot of Team Rocket fans feel similar to me on that point. And abuse, honestly, should never be played for laughs. I liked how Holy Matrimony! showed that it really wasn't funny at all and that yes, Jessiebelle was worse than Jessie, abuse-wise. I just wish it would have made Jessie shape up seeing what Jessiebelle was like.

Another problem with fleshing things out in the story is that I was trying to save most of the fleshing out for the big story, if I'm able to put it together. I didn't have too much of a hurt/comfort scene for that reason too. But I'm sure I could do better than I did.

I'm also mostly done with my Pokemon episodes. I crave more, yet I wonder whether to get into the Johto seasons or not. By Johto, any episodes with team-ups or other nice Team Rocket moments always seemed to end with cheap betrayals. That seriously bugged me, especially since it didn't tend to happen in the first two seasons (A Chansey Operation being an exception). Ignorance is Blissey is different, but it's so heartbreaking, gah. Probably Jessie's finest moment, though. And I finally saw the second movie again (and own it at last) and find it the pinnacle of Pokemon entertainment, just as before. I'd forgotten Jessie and James and Meowth were so prominent all the way through it, and their sacrifice was just the icing on the cake. It's hard to think of things going back to the status quo after that amazing movie. I like to think of it being more meaningful than that.

Then I also keep worrying about the big fic and the sacrifice bit again. I think I figured out, maybe, what that Megaman fan's problem with sacrifice stories was. If so, it's also a problem I have. I think I ranted once about the movie Paratroop Command and how it seemed to bring out the idea that the bad luck main character was only good at being a hero if he died. I hated that. I don't want it to look like I'm bringing out a similar idea in this fic. I was hoping to do a scene at some point with Father Joe (yes, I really did that thing with bringing in the Invaders priest) talking to James and telling him he has the potential to be a hero. But if I do that, having the sacrifice bit really might look like I'm saying he can only be a hero if he dies for something instead of living for something. If I could just figure out a way so it won't look like that....
insaneladybug: (Default)
Working on a Turtles fic, but I'm not quite sure what to do with it and my attention keeps wandering, hence why I'm writing this long entry.

I never did take the time to record what I thought of the other two Equestria Girls shorts. I loved the first one so much because it seemed to go back to the formula that really worked, the urban setting and school stuff going on and no constant magical powers courtesy of mysterious stones.

The other two shorts I liked less than the first one, even though they also had things I liked.

Spoilers )

So yeah, in the end, it was a mixed bag and I haven't bought the DVD yet. I'm debating whether I really want to, since I only really liked the first short and there were just things I liked in the other two rather than liking them as a whole.

It feels so good knowing autumn is on its way. The days are getting shorter and some days are getting a little cooler and it's wonderful. I feel sad for Mom, as she always feels bad when summer ends, especially if we haven't been able to do much during it, but autumn is totally my favorite season and I am always so relieved to say Goodbye to summer heat and Hello to autumn leaves, spooky stuff, and my birthday. Heh.

I'm also wondering, honestly, what to even ask for on my birthday or what I might like to buy on my celebratory shopping spree. I'm pretty happy/content at this point in time and can't seem to think of much I want, at least that would be available around here. If I saw, say, season 2 of U.N.C.L.E. or that awesome Charlie's Angels boxset or season 1 of Rockford, or the other DuckTales and Talespin DVDs (or new human Baxter merchandise!), I'd be happy to snap them up. But I'm unlikely to see them offline (and unlikely to see human Baxter merchandise at all). I'll still want to have the shopping spree, though.

Normally one thing I always ask for is the latest Clair Poulson novel. But the one he's just released didn't sound quite as compelling to me as most of his books do, so I'm a little "Eh" right now. It sounded like it might focus on romance even more than most of them do. Honestly, as much as I love the plots and suspense and most of the characters, I get really bored when there almost always has to be a romance. I just tolerate it because the rest is so great. I think he only has one book where there isn't a romance between the male and female leads, and that's Conflict of Interest. I should read it again. It was a breath of fresh air to see a friendship instead.

Maybe for the shopping spree I'll focus on trying to get the other pieces I'll need for my Baxter Halloween costume. I really only need a wig and the coat; I have everything else. And without K-Mart, that seriously limits my costuming options. Sigh. They had such a good selection of stuff. ShopKo used to, but the last couple of years they've hardly had anything. Wal-Mart usually has a pretty good line-up, so I'm hoping I'll be able to find what I want there. If that fails, I guess there's Target and maybe a party store to try. The lab coat should be easy to procure, but the wig may be a little harder. Baxter's hair is such a unique color. I'd be willing to get a blond one if it was the right style, but I'd prefer light brown. And wild scientist wigs usually only come in white.

Most years, I'm lucky to find one or two things I want on the shopping spree. A lot of years, I find nothing and decide what I really want is online and get it there (and have to wait for a week to get it in the mail, sigh). Last year was one of the best times I've had in ages. I got ... let's see ... the Indigo Zap doll, a Real Ghostbusters DVD, the plushie that became Baxter, a YGO book (not a manga, a book about the anime and the characters and such), and TMNT seasons 1 and 4. It was so awesome.

Seems like most of the Pony Movie toys coming out are Sea Pony related or Ponies dressed as pirates. The new characters I wouldn't want toys of until I see whether I like their characters. And I have no desire to own the established characters in Sea Pony or Pirate form. I want to see the movie, but I am not thrilled at all about the main characters having to change into mermaids and blowfish (WTH, poor Spike). And since that seems to be one of the main product lines being pushed, it seems like it must last longer than one scene in the movie where they go for help. Then again, I guess some of the other lines have been based on scenes in the show that were only one scene. One can only hope.
insaneladybug: (baxterstockman)
I think I've figured out what I need to do. Since for the first time my audience is divided, I believe the only right thing to do, at least for the time being, is cross-posting. I will probably post from DW and cross-post to LJ from there, and then go to LJ and edit the posts with different icons, since I assume it will only cross-post with the default icon? We'll see. (Hey, look, it posted with the same icon both places! Awesome.) Some entries will still be DW-specific, like if I want to post more silly song lyrics like I was doing earlier, but otherwise they will most likely be cross-posted for now.

It is so surprising to discover that while Leonardo remains my favorite Turtle for the 1987 series (as he is in all branches of the franchise), I believe Michelangelo is my second favorite for the 1987 series. He always irritated me through the years, even as a kid. I didn't remember the 1987 series too well, but he irritated me in my sole Archie Comic. I don't recall if he irritated me in the 1990 movie, however. But then he drove me nuts in the 2003 series.

I don't know if I mellowed out or what, because he didn't irritate me when I watched TMNT, nor in the Platinum Dunes movies (yes, I actually like those). And last summer when I watched the few season 1 episodes of the 2003 series that I have on DVD, he wasn't too much of a pain. Not a favorite, but he didn't absolutely grate on my nerves. Although I think most of my aggravation with him came from season 2 and beyond.

I found him less annoying but still kind of a pain in the 1987 series, and I'm still a little irritated with him in some episodes (like where he blasts the radio really loud while the others are trying to sleep, WTH), but a combination of writing for him in my stories and interacting every day with ThickerThanLove, a huge Michelangelo fan who brought new perspectives to the table, has seemed to result in my seeing him with new eyes. I didn't find him so annoying anymore in some episodes, like Nightmare in the Lair. When I like a character enough, I tend to forgive their faults/be amused by them/be exasperated but not turned off by them. And I seem to have mostly reached that point with Michelangelo. I never in my life thought that would happen. But considering that he's the friendliest/most forgiving of the Turtles, he's the one who ended up bonding with Baxter the most, so he's ironically the Turtle I write for the most in my stories. It's hard to keep disliking him under those circumstances. I was already starting to feel differently about him from that, and then it happened even moreso with the daily new perspectives on his character from my Michelangelo fan friend.

I owe a lot of important things in the stories to her, too. Like when Barney was so obsessive about not failing in The Golden Goose story and that led to him doing some things that have haunted him ever since, she noted how his attitude set him on a path that could definitely lead to him snapping and going psychotic someday. I thought about that and realized that while I certainly could do that, it wasn't what I wanted for him. And that story became a turning point in the opposite direction. He hit rock bottom from what he did in that story (encasing Michelangelo in gold with the goose's powers) and from that point gradually improved instead of spiraling out further. He believed more than ever that he deserved to be with villains and that he absolutely was one, but ever so slowly, his conscience and Vincent and Baxter worked on him and he started to turn his life around. And there's so many other things, little suggestions for dialogue or plot twists, or sometimes big plot twists; some stories would absolutely have not come together without her. I don't think I could list all the ways she's made my stories so much better.

The other day we were musing on our "rules" for writing stories set in 1987 verse. I said that I figured my only rules were things I would not do to the characters, similar to how I feel about pretty much every fandom. But since TMNT 87 is so wacky, there are a couple of things slightly different for it, rule-wise.

Like, I think my main things are something as follows:

- Absolutely under no circumstances will the characters unnaturally change ages, either younger or older. I think this honestly upsets me more than any other trope the series did. And it's not just a matter of how the series did it; I just really have a thing about characters being forced to be other ages than what they are, either physically or mentally or both. (That said, I have got a giggle from how both TMNT 87 and Get Smart handled characters behaving like kids while not looking like them. But I still wouldn't write even that much into the trope.)

- Likewise, no shrinking/miniaturization.

- I'm actually not as repulsed by growing big (50-foot Irma, etc.), but that said, I don't want to write it regardless.

- No broken bones or stomach wounds. I always cite having watched that Sesame Street arc about Telly's broken arm as the reason why I won't break bones. And my research on stomach wounds when I was trying to save the canonically stabbed Mr. Ecks is the reason why I say No to stomach wounds. (So probably, if I did research on other things, I might end up with a lot of other scenarios I would say No to as well. Heh. Or else decide, "Screw reality; I'm doing it the way I want it!" if it's something like a knockout, but it's pretty common in fiction not to treat knockouts like reality anyway, so I don't feel as weird for that.

- No loss of senses. Especially vision, but any sense-loss is a big no-no. (Characters can become shellshocked/not talk after something traumatic, but the ability to speak will never be removed from them.)

- While Channel 6 characters were often collectively the victims of weird stuff, Baxter likely will never be part of that if it would mean he'd be out of commission/needing to be helped for the entire story. Like when I did the Relaxatron fic and the Channel 6 crew ended up super relaxed and funny and unhelpful, Baxter escaped that fate (because Barney didn't want to do that to him). The stories are largely to develop Baxter and Barney's characters, which wouldn't be accomplished by Baxter being in weird states for the duration. And then it wouldn't be as much fun for me, heh.

- On the same lines, while it is totally encouraged to make fun of Shredder-tachi, Barney is exempt from this aside from some amusement over some of his temper tantrums. (Even that seemed to lessen, however, and the temper became a more serious issue for the most part. Which wasn't how I planned it; it just happened that way.) When Barney worked for Shredder, weird things didn't happen to him even if they happened to some or all of the rest of the group.

- In other words, Baxter and Barney are both to be treated as serious characters.

- Characters turning into animals is a necessary evil for watching this series, but I will not do it unless I'm fixing a mess canon made and didn't fully clean up (like Irma and Vernon's rat transformations lying dormant and still being able to be triggered).

- That said, characters will only ever be anthropomorphic/mutant animals. No "real-life" type animals are acceptable. Donatello Trashes Slash is one episode I've only watched once, mainly because I can't stomach Vernon and Burne turtles. The designs were really ugly and that only made it worse. (And probably now that I've brought it up, I'll end up trying to brave the episode one more time....) Bye, Bye, Fly I avoided re-watching for ages. I only feel better about watching it for Z/Vincent. Otherwise, I doubt I would.

- Characters don't die for real. (Of course.)

- The power of love is awesome. I still love to use it to redeem characters/get them out of places like Nightmare Land/get hysterical characters to calm down, etc. Barney is a neuropsychologist, but I can't see myself doing a whole lot with his knowledge of legal drugs as I've never used that as a way to calm hysterical characters down, etc. (Hysterical characters can be calmed down by the love of a family member/friend in my verse.) Of course, I've also never written problems that pretty much only could be solved by legal drugs in reality. Naturally, the power of love can't fix everything, like Shredder's brother will never manage to redeem him, but for characters who are good at heart, yeah, it works on at least some important things, like breaking through mind-control/possession and/or getting characters to fight to live.

- No magic, please, unless it's absolutely necessary. Let's use science instead. Even The Golden Goose in my verse is supposed to be science-based and not magic-based. One thing I love about the 87 series is that magic really wasn't a factor. Yeah, I still don't like magic and only use it as the means to an end if I have to. But for this series, I can use science to that end instead, so yay.

(I know/(knew?) someone who was always really exasperated/frustrated by my love of "The power of love" and preferred magic to fix things. But meanwhile, I was exasperated/frustrated by that, so I'd say it all evens out. Heh. Anyway, I eventually got so I was hesitant/wary/leery/worried to use the trope, but these days I'm encouraged to use it rather than discouraged. LOL. Go figure. I love that.)

- Even though we're using science, let's also not try to apply real-life science to situations that just can't happen in real-life (unless somehow it amazingly would work in theory).

- And since TMNT 87 pretty much said "Screw the rules!," let's hardly ever bring real-world logic in in the first place. LOL. Like, characters can be frozen in blocks of ice and then unthawed without the need for hospital stays or extreme methods of warming up. Gradually increasing the heat and burrowing into blankets works fine, LOL. (And loved ones holding them close.) Since I've expressed before that I like "instant gratification hurt/comfort" rather than recoveries that drag on and on for ages, the attitude of TMNT 87 works really well for me and I can do pretty much whatever I want without worry over not doing what's realistic.

It's funny how for years I avoided the series both because it's funny and because it has tropes I don't like, and now I totally embrace it while instead being more leery of revisiting the 2003 series. On the one hand, I'm pretty much burned out on dark things and prefer things that make me laugh. Of course, on the other hand, I was always upset by what was happening to the 2003 Baxter, even though I didn't particularly like that version of the character since he was sane but evil. I still thought he didn't deserve the horrifying things that kept happening to him, and by this point I'm so horrified/repulsed/disgusted/appalled by that that I honestly don't know if I could ever feel like revisiting most of the episodes after the worst stuff starts happening to him.

I've heard it said in some places that 2003 Baxter is 1987 Baxter done right. As far as making him a major player through the series, I'll agree. As far as what happens to them, I completely disagree, except for the fact that 2003 Baxter actually has some hope of a decent body by the end. As sickened as I am by the fly cross-fusion, 2003 Baxter's fates are physically far worse. And as far as personality, I don't think one can compare too far, since while yes, they're both arrogant/think they're awesome, 2003 Baxter is sane but evil and 1987 Baxter started out trying to be honest, as far as we can tell, and his life turned upsidedown when he trusted the wrong man. He didn't know what Shredder really wanted the Mousers for, as shown when he commented "That guy must really have a thing about rats," and I'm pretty sure Shredder was the one who stamped Baxter's name on them so he would get blamed when the city got torn apart. Baxter was just trying to start out, after all; he was living in a broken-down factory with shattered windows. I highly doubt he really had a company called "Baxter Stockman Inventions." Shredder probably made it up. I don't think Baxter was completely nuts during the early season 2 episodes, but his sanity was clearly teetering on the brink judging from the first episode of such. (And Curse of the Evil Eye showed him finally snapping and not putting up with the abuse anymore.) And then his sanity was completely gone after the cross-fusion. No, being nuts doesn't make the horrible things he did right, but I do think it gives him more sympathy. Plus, one has to remember that he was cross-fused with a fly and the fly's brain was clearly taking over more and more with each episode. That was obvious even without anything being said, but Baxter said as much in Bye, Bye, Fly. So he had both cracked up in general and another mind was eclipsing his. He just couldn't win.

(Also, is it a little immature of me that when I saw someone giggling over the fact that Z's energy-generated body looked naked, my response was to laugh back with basically, "Of course he's naked; that's obvious. But he didn't design it to be anatomically correct, LOL." That is to say, that person found it amusing he was naked, I found it amusing that said person was so amused since there wasn't anything that needed to be censored. And I don't mean I said anything to the person; I've never interacted with said person. But that was my mental response from afar, shall we say. And the point is briefly brought up in the stories when he decides to wear clothes.)

And wow, I went off on a tangent. That's what happens when one doesn't update for a while, I guess.

(Also, yay, DW does have a Saved Draft feature! Didn't realize that.)

July 2025

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 01:45 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios